We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving Cape Town because of this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Grace

Save Saved
You added Cape Grace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 5 nights and Save
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loving Cape Town because of this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I recently booked at Cape Grace Hotel for 4 nights with my family. It was really great, our rooms were neatly done. I mostly loved the signal restaurant, the food was excellently served, and I should compliment one of the waiters there, Blessing. This guy is very humble and also doing his work properly, he really served us well and made sure we had the best service. Thanks Cape Grace, you are wonderful!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    86
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
174
564
41
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I recently spent four nights at Cape Grace in Cape Town and it was wonderful! The staff was incredibly friendly from check-in to check-out and truly made an effort to accommodate us in every way possible. They have a great restaurant, delicious food and a really unique whiskey bar for cocktails at night (or during the day). The hotel also offers a 7-series BMW that will take you anywhere you need to go in the city at no charge, which was so nice for dinner reservations and pick ups after we had been out exploring. You can just call them at any time and a driver comes to pick you up! Much better than finding a taxi in a foreign city...

The spa was under construction on our visit but we still got massages and they were fantastic! Even though the spa was being renovated they had setup spa rooms in guest suites that were very tranquil...if I hadn't known any better I would've thought it was the spa. Which goes to show how above and beyond they go for their guests to have a good experience.

Cape Grace was in a great location as well, we were able to walk to the V&A Waterfront area which had tons of shops and restaurants. We were a short drive to Camp's Bay and a short drive to Kloof and Long streets.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Cape Grace, it is a beautiful hotel and we are so glad it was recommended to us through &Beyond, the best safari planning company around!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with Table Mountain view, it overlooks a Marina with the Mountain in the backgroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a wonderful three nights at the Cape Grace. The accommodations were lovely and the breakfast delicious. We had dinner in the dining room one night and it was one of the best I have ever had. The hotel is on the waterfront and in walking distance to the aquarium, a craft market, restaurants and a large mall (just in case you forgot to pack something)

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

You could write for an hour about this Hotel, such are the qualities.
It is well located, oozes majestic charm from a bygone era and has staff that cannot do enough to make your stay an unforgettable experience.
We had 6 nights at The Cape Grace and within that period we were part of their extensive family. From Edward the driver to the breakfast and hotel staff we were made special from check in to check out.
Make use of their local knowledge and appreciate the love and sincere care they provide on a daily basis.
Thank you Cape Grace you made a beautiful city even more memorable.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Cape Grace is ideally situated in Capetown, on waterfront. very classy, fantastic service.
great views. excellent bar and restaurant. one of the greatest hotels I have ever experienced. I would recommend to anybody visiting CT.

Room Tip: ask for room with View on waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Everything was perfect. Our room was beautiful - it looked out over the harbor. The hotel staff were friendly and new our names by the second day. We ate breakfast in the hotel every morning - delicious. We walked to different restaurants each night. Cape Town is a beautiful city. Make sure to visit the wineries and make the trip to Cape Horn. Make sure you find the whiskey bar in the hotel. It is somewhat hidden.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

One of my favorite hotels on planet earth! I could write a tome about this great hotel but if your looking for service, service, and more service this is your place. Its as good as it gets! Everything about this hotel is first class. The food is world class and the furnishings are amazing. Will come back next year for my yearly pampering.

Room Tip: I always get one of the rooms that overlook the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.