We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, with best in class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Grace to your Saves list
Cape Grace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Brussels
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, with best in class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Cape Grace is ideally situated in Capetown, on waterfront. very classy, fantastic service.
great views. excellent bar and restaurant. one of the greatest hotels I have ever experienced. I would recommend to anybody visiting CT.

Room Tip: ask for room with View on waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    88
    23
    6
    9
See reviews for
181
604
42
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Everything was perfect. Our room was beautiful - it looked out over the harbor. The hotel staff were friendly and new our names by the second day. We ate breakfast in the hotel every morning - delicious. We walked to different restaurants each night. Cape Town is a beautiful city. Make sure to visit the wineries and make the trip to Cape Horn. Make sure you find the whiskey bar in the hotel. It is somewhat hidden.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

One of my favorite hotels on planet earth! I could write a tome about this great hotel but if your looking for service, service, and more service this is your place. Its as good as it gets! Everything about this hotel is first class. The food is world class and the furnishings are amazing. Will come back next year for my yearly pampering.

Room Tip: I always get one of the rooms that overlook the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We arrived early after an overnight flight, and did not expect our room to be ready. Nonetheless the staff was more than apologetic and made every effort to make us comfortable while we waited. The service than improved thereafter. The room was exceptionally comfortable, with a great view of Table Mountain. Wake up calls were followed in five minutes by a delivery of hot coffee, and breakfast was very good. Sadly, the coffee was poor here and throughout South Africa. But, this is a minor complaint about this exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: The best and quieter rooms are those looking towards Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the Cape Grace for as long as I can remember and we have always been very impressed by it's high quality in every single way. However our most recent 6 night stay left us feeling very disappointed when it came to the quality of food for both breakfast and room service. We didn't come to Cape Town to eat, but when you are staying at a 5 star hotel and paying a premium you expect the best. The scrambled eggs were over cooked and dry, the porridge watery and tasteless and the bread on the toasted sandwiches soggy on the outside and dry in the inside. We didn't dare eat anything else at this hotel as we didn't want to end up even more disappointed. A nice hotel, with friendly staff and lovely rooms, but the food is disgustingly terrible.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I just returned from a three day stay at Cape Grace, and I absolutely enjoyed it. There is just so much to like about the hotel:

1- Wonderful service: friendly, personal service from everyone. People know you by name and address you appropriately. Very courteous, and always going out of their way to help you.
2- Elegant with lots of character: The rooms are elegant and the style is quite unique. My room was very elegantly furnished but had a unique, homely feel to it and it overlooked a beautiful yacht Marina.
3- Great location: right by the Cape Town water front. Lots of nice restaurants and places to hang out, great shopping, and very close to the various beaches and spots on Camps Bay Beach and Bantry Bay.
4- Great food: All the food I tried was as good as any I had anywhere. Make sure to try their nice chilled rooibos tea.

I also loved how the services such as laundry and room service were reasonably priced.

I would definitely return again to the Gape Grace the next time I am in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Wonderful Hotel and hands down the best I have ever stayed in.
Stayed in the Luxury Rooftop facing the Mountain, wine on the terrace every afternoon and the best room service in the business. I love the BOTTLE of milk provided in the room for coffee & tea, cannot stand when hotels give you those little pockets of dairy that barely colours the drink.
Friendly staff!!! Also stayed in the penthouse for a night for out engagement celebrations and it was sublime!! I love this hotel and will be coming back every time we visit Cape Town.

Room Tip: Mountain Facing Room ALWAYS!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.