We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Grace to your Saves list
Cape Grace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 5 and Save 25%
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

From the moment we stepped into Cape Grace we were blown away by the wonderful service. Absolutely everyone we encountered from Concierge to the great staff by the pool were gracious, helpful and super smiley. Our room was beautifully appointed with amazing attention to detail. Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    101
    30
    8
    11
See reviews for
210
682
46
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at the Cape Grace Hotel in Cape Town for 3 wonderful nights in March 2014. Everything was wonderful from the check in to the very early check out. Our small group left at 4:15 a.m. with coffee and breakfast bag in hand. Excellent service.

The location adjacent to the harbour makes it so easy to walk around and enjoy the surroundings. The room is very nice and comfortable, take the time to enjoy a soak in the glorious deep bathtub.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with a view of the harbour (sailboats) not the working harbour side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed post cruise at the Cape Grace per recommendation of my travel agent the end of March,2014 for several nights. I knew I had made the right choice, as I was warmly greeted by the hotel driver of the luxury car that was sent to transfer me to the hotel from the cruise pier. The door staff and front desk staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. My room was not ready, so they arranged to have my valuables and personal items secured while I went shopping. The room was fantastic with special attention to details such as "room Spray" provided in the toilet/ bath area ! The spa was warm, relaxing and I received one of the best massages for very reasonable prices.
I want to add that the Cashier -Tashwin went above and beyond assisting and making arrangements to ship all my purchases directly to my home in the US. He took care of everything including the packing, fumigation process and he even called me at my home to update me on the status of my shipment twice ! I fell in love with my hotel experience at the Cape Grace and would highly recommend anyone to stay at this oasis gem of a hotel in the heart of V&A waterfront in CapeTown . I received so much more for the worthwhile price I paid and would stay there again in a heartbeat . As a solo woman traveler , I felt completely safe and secure and at "Home" at the Cape Grace !

Barbara A

Room Tip: I stayed on the 3rd floor and recommend the 3rd or 4 th floor....the higher floors perhaps have less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Everything was wonderful from check in to check out. The rooms are very comfortable with excellent amenities. The location adjacent to the harbor, is very good and within very easy walking distance of excellent shopping. he décor is superior and the service excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodl
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at the Cape Grace for two nights in February before embarking on a cruise along the west coast of Africa.

We arrived at Cape Grace after an early morning arrival on a BA flight from London where the service had been, to put it kindly, graceless. Such a contrast to our arrival at Cape Grace where from the very start we experienced gracious service that was excellent in all respects.

As we were early in arriving it was no surprise or hardship that rooms were not ready. We were greeted with a drink and then shown in to the dining room for an excellent breakfast. We were offered the option of leaving a mobile number with the promise that we would be called if a room became available before the usual check-in time. At 10.30am that call duly came and we were in our room and able to get refreshed before exploring the V&A Waterfront.

Throughout or stay the hotel maintained the same level of impeccable and friendly service.

On our second and last night we ate in the hotel dining room. We had a truly delicious meal accompanied by some excellent South African wine, chosen after an interesting conversation with the sommelier. Given the strength of the pound against the rand, the cost of this superb meal was about half the cost of something of similar quality in London.

Although we were leaving to embark on a great adventure, we still felt very sad about leaving Cape Grace - but we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you want a remarkable hotel experience, I strongly recommend the Cape Grace Hotel in Capetown. The rooms and all public spaces are extremely beautiful-even the area to wait for the elevators on each floor have a living room feel. The staff greeted us by name at breakfast, remembered where we sat the previous day and were all very helpful. When you return after dinner, the doorman welcomes you "home". I don't think we've ever stayed in a hotel in a city that was lovelier. The location was also perfect. 5 minute walk to all the wonderful waterfront restaurants and to the Robben Island ferry. The views from the rooms are also gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Considering all 5 stars hotels that I've ever been to, no one has the quality of Cape Grace's staff. EVERYONE will make EVERYTHING for you to feel comfortable.
They think about every detail.
Everything so pleasant. Room, furniture, design, view. Great choice of wines and good food.
I really appreciated staying in the waterfront area. You can walk around feeling safe. I didn't feel the same in other areas of the city.
If you are staying with small kids, as I always do, there is no appropriate areas for them in the common rooms of the hotel, as you could imagine. Everything is cozy and silent, so you better take them to one of the public playgrounds just a few minutes walking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.