We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo lovely,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Grace

Save Saved
You added Cape Grace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Grace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 5 nights and Save
Ranked #7 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
Cali
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sooo lovely,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We expected a grand hotel, but this is beyond our expectations. The hotl has been remodeled into a modern, classy, original hotel, with all the amenities, excellent staff, courteous, attentive and professional, warm, efficient, the works. The linens are immaculate, confortable beds and impecable bathrooms. The decor is bording on fabulous, trendy but conservative and the food is delicious. The children are extatic as well, we love the flower arrangements which are so original, the personal touches, the wild mix and matches, the feather sofas, the original corset chairs, oh, just wonderful,

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    901
    84
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
169
551
41
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Cape Grace truly deserves its reputation as the best accommodation choice in Cape Town. With a location steps away from the Waterfront, beautifully furnished spacious rooms, and excellent food and services, it is the only choice for travelers who wish to find all their requirements at hand. From the time a guest checks in until departure, everything is flawless.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Table Mountain view room and oftentimes felt it difficult to tear myself away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Located a short distance from waterfront, great location. Safe at all times. Rooms well furnished. Central heat in room is unusual here but great feature for USA standards. Makes room comfortable. Breakfast included and is good. Complimentary car service for close-by destinations. Staff friendly and attentive. Assistance in all matters including reservations and tours. Good dining suggestions.

Room Tip: First floor was actually great even though I don't usually like
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I travel often to some of the best hotels in the world and I have to say Cape Grace is among them. Yes, the rooms are luxurious and the location is perfect but the true difference is the service. The amazing concierges can procure a reservation at the hottest restaurant in the city or an offbeat tour that is unique. Every detail is taken care of and the communication is excellent. Now we know why Cape Grace is the ONLY place to stay in Capetown!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed here following our safari. Very formal, luxurious hotel. Excellent location as a very short walk to the Waterfront, which had lots of restaurants. The staff were very welcoming and friendly everytime you came into contact with them and the concierge really useful. Liked that you could also use their business room computers to arrange your own outings, print tickets off etc (although you get free wifi in your room too). Their car service is great but if you go outside the 10k radius I would book your own taxi as their rates seem high. Breakfast was good but the same every day - the other hotels ran a daily special which was a nice touch. Rooms were very nice if not a little plain. The bed was very comfortable but the pillows were awful, which was a real shame as it meant I did not sleep very well. Have a pool but this is outdoors (heated). I like a pre breakfast swim but I felt a bit stared at by staff when I went down - don't think they are really set up for this because although it is always open the changing rooms are only accessible when the pool is manned. You also have to walk past the dining room to access the pool which felt a bit awkward. Pool itself was lovely though and loved watching the sun come up over table mountain as I swam.

Room Tip: Can pick from rooms with either a marine harbour view or a table mountain view depending on which si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel and rooms, service outstanding, location is convenient where you can walk to restaurants and shops. We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite and my daughter told us she never wanted to leave. Wonderful retreat after 2 long tour days. Breakfast buffet is outstanding . Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again. It deserves its spot on top 20 hotels in the world from Conde Nast Traveler magazine!

Room Tip: try to get corner suite overlooking table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Cape Grace Hotel. It is quite possibly, the best hotel I have stayed in. The decor is exquisite and reflects the history of the area. The food and service was superb. The hotel is conveniently situated near the V&A Waterfront with views of Table Mountain. They provide a chauffeur to take you around the city. The staff are friendly and helpful. The afternoon tea was so lovely, we became regulars. I would highly recommend- it made for a wonderful stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.