We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Grace to your Saves list
Cape Grace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 5 and Save 25%
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location & services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Fantastic hotel in a prime location, nearby the shops and restaurants. Breakfasts had an amazing selection and staff were polite and helpful. The free taxi service up to a certain distance was also handy. The bottle of Simonsig and sweets in my room for my birthday topped it all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    90
    25
    6
    9
See reviews for
187
620
44
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were ending a cruise in Cape Town and our travel agent booked us in the Cape Grace. We didn't know much about it, just that our agent recommended it highly. The hotel sent a car to pick us up at the ship when we disembarked and drove us the short ride to the hotel.
Cape Grace is right in the middle of the busy and bustling harbor, but when you walk in the lobby it's peaceful and welcoming. We were checked in quickly and even though it was 8:30am our room was ready and waiting for us. We were given a tour of the hotel and then taken to our room where our bags had already been delivered. We had a beautiful room overlooking the yacht harbor and Table Mountain.
The hotel has been around for awhile, but it's warm and charming and beautifully maintained. Service is extraordinary. It seems there is nothing they can't do for you and are ready with a smile and to say, "Of course we can do that". And then a quick look that askes, "Did you really doubt we could do it? They seem to thrive on making any task look easy. Everyone is happy to help, make recommendations, or reservations and answer any question that you have.
I stopped at the concierge desk one day to ask about recommendations for dinner restaurants on the next leg of our journey to the wine country. The concierge had stepped away for a minute, but a gentleman quickly came over when he saw me standing there. I told him what I wanted and he immediately started asking questions about what we liked and if we had and places we particularly wanted to try. I told him that we didn't and he said he had some recommendations and proceeded to suggest places to eat and to make reservations for our dinners at our next destination. Talking to him while he was making the reservations, I discovered that he was the hotel manager. I haven't met too many managers that will step in and do any job that's needed to help a guest. It made me realize what an exceptional place the Cape Grace really was.
Everyone there meets you with a smile and a "can do" attitude, which obviously comes from the top down. We had an amazing time and a fabulous stay at the Cape Grace. I'd love to go back some day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the yacht harbor and Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed in hotels all around the world but I have to say that the staff at Cape Grace made me and my wife feel very special. Faith at the reception started the process by taking us around the hotel and then to our room, but nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The hotel's location is very convenient for the V & A waterfront that offers a wide selection of shops and restaurants. The only problem we had during our stay was the gale force winds that meant the ferries to Robben Island were cancelled. The pool in the late afternoon was deserted and very pleasant as was the bar with its wide selection of whiskies. The Cape Grace hotel is an excellent choice for anyone wanting comfort and personal service.

Room Tip: Get a room if you can that overlooks the marina and hence Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We almost went to The One and Only - and thankfully we didn't. We explored it one night after dinner and agreed that Cape Grace was the best.
There is no soul in One and Only. Cape Grace has history, character - yet is fresh, modern/classic, and just has every detail in line. Plus, you can tell the staff work beautifully together. Rare to find in a city hotel.
I took home way too many pictures of the interior decor. stunning.
Not suprising that Oprah was there a few days prior....it fits her style.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

There is nothing about this hotel I don't like- except that I couldn't stay longer as they were full over the New Year period. The location is very convenient, the rooms are very well appointed, & the staff are superlatively helpful (not in a formulaic way but in a genuine & personable style).

Room Tip: They are all very good rooms. If you get the opportunity book a suite because its such a joy having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited the Cape Grace Hotel to experience their Afternoon Tea.

The cost is R95 per person and consists of 1 pot of tea (choice of many great flavoured loose teas), and a 3 tired stand consisting of the usual finger sandwiches, scones and sweet treats.

Each and every item was incredibly tasty and you could see they used quality ingredients and put a lot of thought into offering a perfect selection.

Service was very good and overall, we had a lovely afternoon.

High recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

After our honeymoon experience at Cape Grace, my husband and I now have new standards when staying at a hotel; our only hope is that everyone else can reach them. From the moment we walked in and were greeted, we felt at ease and comfortable. The hotel is very elegant yet one still feels at home. We have never stayed at a hotel with quite a competent and superb staff/ concierge (special thanks to Quintin, Tonya, and Bongani). Anything that we needed, they made it happen! The professionalism and friendliness of the staff was just amazing. For example, the original company that we had booked for shark cage diving cancelled because of the weather and were unable to reschedule us, however Cape Grace concierge to the rescue. My husband was most looking forward to the cage dive so you can imagine our disappoinment but Cape Grace handled it for us. They booked Marine Dynamics and we had the most amazing shark cage diving experience! So cool. I had tried to make reservations at Test Kitchen for several months and was unable to and Tonya made a phone call and it was done! As a honeymooner, they pamper you immensely. Every day we would get back from one of our tours or outings and we would have a new surprise awaiting us!

Our room was great. Our view from the balcony was just a vision. When booking here, definitely request the marina view. It also gives you views of Table Mountain…outstanding. It is located in the V&A waterfront and central to any other place that you are looking to visit.

Cape Town in itself is just a beautiful city. It reawakened my husband’s love for photography and it was just the perfect way to start our honeymoon. We are very grateful to the Cape Grace for making it even that much more of an exceptional honeymoon experience. All hotels should model after their customer service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.