We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four out of Four” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Grace to your Saves list
Cape Grace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 5 and Save 25%
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Four out of Four”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have stayed at Cape Grace now four times and have found it impeccable for service quality friendliness. Simply the best this is now our favourite SA Hotel in fact of all the 5 star hotels we have stayed in anywhere. We will return again.

Room Tip: We like the fourth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    90
    27
    6
    9
See reviews for
188
623
44
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at the Cape Grace Hotel in November at the start of our three week holiday to South Africa. This truly is a genuine five star hotel. We were greeted by Julie who throughout our four day stay was helpfulness itself. Nothing was ever too much trouble. ALL the staff were very friendly, professional & most hepful. But above all else each member of the "team" always had a smile and invariably greeted us first. We had a luxury room which was stunning. A very large room with lovely armchairs and a settee. The bathroom was equally stunning, a massive shower with room easily for four persons!! Beautiful mosiac "his and hers" wash basins & a lovely big bath.
We found The Signal Restaurent excellent. As in genuine five star hotels breakfast was cooked to order. Usually served in the Conservatory which was light and airy. We had dinner on two nights, (the other was in the fantastic restaurant 95 Keeram). Dinner was delicious on both occasions and bearing in mind 5star etc the price was very reasonable.
The car which was provided by the hotel was an extra bonus. This was a brand new 750 BMW. We made use of this vehile on several occasions and never once were we declined. You just have to remember to book 24 hrs in advance. Ricky was our driver on each occasion and he is wonderful. Has a terriffic knowlege of his beloved Cape Town and South Africa in general.
The location is perfect. Table Mountain is about 15 mins away which of course is really un-missable.
The "V & A" Waterfront is spectacular with many many restaurants and bars some overlooking the Marina . The "Wharf" shopping Mall my wife tells me is apparently quite fantastic. Guys, dont go in there just let them go in there on their own and pay up and look big!!!!
The swimming pool area is also lovely with large comfortable sun-loungers with huge sun umbrellas. Waiter service as usual is impeccable. The only thing - was somewhat surprised that the pool water was a little um cool! Management >>>>>Could really do with some form of heating please???
This really is a fabulous five star hotel with fabulous five star staff. They are most helpful and friendly at ALL times but still maintain that professional edge. We had a truly memorable time at Cape Grace and this started off our wonderful three week holiday in South Africa.

Room Tip: Try for a room over looking Table Mountain if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Two days after leaving, I'm missing the Cape Grace. We were upgraded and loved our balcony above the marina looking up at Table Mountain. The room was very comfortable and every member of staff that we met proactively went the extra mile before it even occurred to us that there existed an extra mile! We've been fortunate enough to have stayed in some wonderful hotels in other countries but the consistency of good-natured helpfulness here is unrivalled and it was nice to hear the pride that the housekeeping staff took in the hotel and in Cape Town. Hoon deserves a special mention - he's helping you before you even realise that you need help and always with an infectious smile and good humour. If you can tear yourself away from the hotel, there's so much to see and do nearby. The half day tour to the Cape of Good Hope was great fun and interesting. The day trip to the safari reserve involved far too much hanging around and what felt like an interminable journey back but was a good experience as a safari "taster". Too many hours away from the Cape Grace!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Had a great seven days at this wonderful hotel.Truly the service here is the best ....everyone works as a team from the reception staff to the concierge team......thank you Hoon for all the attention. The location could not be bettered anywhere in the world with spectacular views of table mountain and the Marina and bay.I would have been happy sitting on the balcony for the whole holiday but there is so much to do.Make sure you make use of the free car........will always have great memories of this holiday which will keep me going until I return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This December we spent nearly a week at the Cape Geace Hotel on the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town. Prefect is the only word to describe our expienence.
Julie who welcomed us and booked us in started our expienence, very friendly and informative about all the hotel has to offer, personally escorted us to our room and got us settled in. One small hiccup was that I had requested a baby bed for our two year old, they had forgotten......we took a walk aroungpd the hotel on on our return to the room about 30 minutes latter the baby bed was in position, the was the cutest robe and slippers for our little man, the were bath time goodies also provided squeaky toys and bubble bath, there was a pack of wet wipes and nappy packets also provided..we were really impressed.
The hotel is located on the V&A Waterfront and it is only a five minute walk to the shopping mall.
The hotel provides a complementary luxury vehicle service for trips within a 10 km radius, the drivers are extremely friendly and helpful Lance, Quinton and Ricky were great!. We missed our 8am ride to the mountain called reception and within 5 minutes they accommodated us for a revised time on 09h30, great service from Quinton on the desk.
We had a luxury room which was very spacious, dressing room and cupboards separate from the large main room, bathroom also very large.
Food in Signal Resturant at the hotel was excellent, all staff very friendly and accommodating, high chair provided for our little man, there is also a kiddies menu.
Bracule the Whisky and Cigar Bar located on the hotel is an expiernce not to be missed, friendly and informative staff, book a tasting, well worth it!

I will only book Cape Grace when in Cape Town!

Room Tip: We had mountain facing on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I tagged along last minute for a trip to Cape Town and thoroughly enjoyed the experience and this hotel. The staff are amazing and remember you name and preference which was a lovely personalised touch. Breakfast was divine and the rooms were picture postcard stunning.

They were very helpful suggesting things to do in the local area and we had a blast going on a mini tour around Cape Town, table mountain and especially the wine tours.

One of my favourite hotels so far!

Room Tip: Close proximity to the v&a waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

we stayed at the cape grace for my mother anniversary last March for 5 days.
I do travel a lot and always search for the highest standarts, the only thing i can say about this hotel is that we were very pleased with our stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean, beds are very comfy, there is a big closet ( kind of walking closet) and the bathroom is very well equiped.
Upon arrival as we were traveling with american express we were offered complimentary starters in our room as we were having an in room dining.
The premises of the hotel are very nice and the staff very helpful. I can only recommend the High tea they serve in the libraby in the afternoon, delicious and very reasonably priced for what you get.
The breakfast was also a great point for this hotel as well as the town car service they offer free of charge to take you to the center.
The only negative point i see if the restaurant for dinner, although fresh and good i thought i was a bit below then the rest of the hotel, and if the room had a balcony that would have been a plus.
i recomment everyone to stay there if visiting cape town and i am usually not easily please with hotels but this one is definatly a great one !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.