We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of De Villiers & Constitution | Zonnebloem, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #85 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed in Cape Town 5 nights and had chosen this hotel because I have the Best Western Rewards Card. The hotel was located in a calm area right outside down-town of Cape Town.

But the free shuttle bus from the hotel or a very cheap, safe and friendly taxie, made this hotel to be a excellent choice, outside a overpriced waterfront area.

Just walking distance to "District 6 Museum", that is a "must" when visiting CT.

Friendly people, nice breakfast, clean and large apartments and a very good Pub for afternoon drinks made us to think we had been lucky to choose this place.

We were 9 people charing 2 apartments, one with 2 bedrooms and one with 3.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
32
23
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naboomspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I called the hotel restaurant Village Cafe to order a meal to my room. I was told to come to the restaurant as they had a buffet there. I was working and wanted to eat in my room. Reception told me to call another pub on the premises. I was told no room service was possible. For the room rate it was not satisfactory. In the future would rather stay somewhere else.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We got lucky and were upgraded to a room that had a view of Table Mtn in the back and the harbor from the balcony. PLENTY of room, as it was a suite. The hotel provided free transportation to several spots in Capetown nearby, but it was not always readily available (still free). I felt the breakfast was too expensive for what we got (US 15 equivalent). There were some cool clubs/bars around the corner, but the hotel itself was enclosed in gates and quiet....more family-oriented. I would choose to stay at one of the hostels on Long Street next time, since we spent most evenings going out there. But if you are looking for a nice hotel...this is where you want to stay!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Good Day,

Thank you most sincerely for your comment wherein you highlighted our offer of free transport, family-orientated and complimentary upgrades to a spacious apartment with awesome views!
We greatly appreciate your input and would like to thank you for your support and welcome any family and friends to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Best Western Cape Suites was clean and decently appointed. The sofa in the living room was well worn, but otherwise the suite was comfortable. It is a little far from any restaurants or bars, except for the attached pub. The food in the pub was okay, nothing to write home about. Breakfast was well rounded with lots of options for hot and cold preferences.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor.We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.Our staff hospitality is something we hold in a very high regard and we are proud that this stood out in your mind.
Thank you again,and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We were here for one night as a stop over and we were pleasently suprised. It was fantastic value for money. By far the cheapest hotel we had all trip and were expecting something basic but it was amazing. the room was quite decadent and the service was tremendous. Generous x 10 breakfast. Close to airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor.We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.Our staff hospitality is something we hold in a very high regard and we are proud that this stood out in your mind. Thank you again,and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

The service provided was efficient and courteously provided. Due to the fact that the flight there took a whole 12 hours from London, and due to my being easily confused, I arrived a day after the date I had actually booked. The staff I dealt with could not have been more helpful. She corrected the booking and waived the day they had lost.

The room provided to me had a stunning view of Table Mountain, the Lion's Head, the City Centre, and harbour areas. It had a living room with TV tuned in to an adequate number of channels (don't South Africans love rugby though!) There was a kitchen with microwave, hob, sink, crockery and cutlery, and a fridge. The bedroom was double-bedded, and the bathroom equally commodious. The shower was just awesome. Every day the room was made over, and the staff always made sure the TV guide was turned to the correct page for the day!

The Hotel is located in the heart of the historic District 6 area which had been a thriving community of 60,000 coloured inhabitants (to use the language of the time) who were forcibly removed to make way for whites-only occupation. There is a museum in the City giving detailed insight into what this entailed, and what it meant for the erstwhile inhabitants.

The bar is clearly a popular watering hole, and I would stray in there at the end of a long day sightseeing and get chatting to the staff or locals over a drink.

I had the Bed and Breakfast option which allowed ample cooked breakfast plus as much toast and jam as I could manage. The only thing that took a bit of getting used to on the downside was the way I could not go anywhere by foot after sunset due to the risk of bing robbed. However, this is not a problem specific to Zonnebloem (District 6).

All in all it was a positive hotel experience at a good price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor.We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.Our staff hospitality is something we hold in a very high regard and we are proud that this stood out in your mind.
Thank you again,and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We were booked into the hotel as part of a prepaid airline get away package. We were promised breakfast and an airport shuttle. Upon arrival, there was no shuttle and when contacted, the front desk said we had to make our own arrangments. Spent $60 getting into town and to the hotel. Upon check in was informed there was no free breakfast buffet, because it had not been prearranged. Breakfast was to be $18 per person per day. We declined. Our room was clean, fairly well appointed, and NOISY. Every car that came in woke us up. We were next to the office and every time they went in or out, the lock clicking woke us up. Upon check out I went to arrange airport shuttle and was told it was not available because it was not arranged. It became available when my voice rose and I reminded the young man I had prearranged when I checked in five days earlier. The onsite cafe was delightful, friendly, and had great food and wine.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Guest, I am terribly sorry that you had a negative experience at our hotel.We will be doing a follow-up on what happened. I would once again like to apologise for any inconvience and misunderstandings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel

Address: Corner of De Villiers & Constitution | Zonnebloem, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Table Mountain, with views of the Cape Town city skyline and Table Bay, lies the BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel, a village-style hotel with a total of 123 studio, one, two and three-bedroom suites. Guests will enjoy a home away from home environment in spacious accommodations, air-conditioned suites with fully equipped kitchens, all at three star standards. Our suites can accommodate several guests, providing twin beds in each bedroom and a double sleeper couch in the lounge. Ideally located, the hotel is a five-minute drive to the famous V & A Waterfront and a 15-minute drive to the beaches of Camps Bay and Clifton. The BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel provides a sensible alternative in offering affordable accommodations for tour groups, business travelers, families and individuals who are looking for spacious accommodations with convenient amenities in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cape Hotel Cape Town Central
Best Western Cape Town
Cape Town Best Western
BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cape Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.