We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard to your Saves list
Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Melbourne & Coronation Roads | PO Box 2979, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Garden Court Eastern Boulevard)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advanced Purchase Offer
Ranked #70 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
mauritius
1 review
“value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Easy check in and out. clean rooms, bedding and shower. quiet and safe.gr8 view over capetown city, table mountain and fabulous sunset colours..took some awesome pics from the balcony.ample safe parking. fabulous breakfast buffet. the dinner buffet was just ok, wide variety of salads and desserts but only 2mains to choose from.pool clean.room service good, try the BBQ chicken wings !! i will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    88
    43
    16
    7
See reviews for
68
50
11
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights during the world cup and the service was terrible. Front desk were confused with any question we had for them. We were asked to wait at check in as they said there was no available rooms for the room that was booked. When we asked for credit to use the internet and it was refused as it was down apparently for the four days, but they sold credit to a friend of ours 10 mins prior (go figure).

The hotel is on the freeway into the city so location is ok but there's no public transport around so a 70 rand cab fare to the V&A waterfront was a regular occurance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Average chain hotel a 20minute taxi ride away from the V&A. Currently being refurbished - which it needs. Staff friendly but despite about a years notice that a hundred or so rugby fans would be staying with them, they didn't have enough bar staff or beer to cope with us.
Buffet breakfast was good, but evening meal in the hotel was expensive and not good.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

We stayed here twice for three nights each between Cape area tours. It had very good pricing for what it included and it's location. The breakfasts were very good and staff very friendly. It is between Table Mountain and the V&A Waterfront. The place to be is the Waterfront and weather it was a taxi or hotel shuttle it was between 70 and 80 Rand one way, very cheap about $10US. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

A large group of us (20) stayed in this hotel for 7nts in Oct 07. I was sharing with another lady- there were 2 double beds in the room. Room and en-suite both well equiped, hair-dyer, tea/coffee making facilities etc. Nice and comfy.
Breakfast was good- buffet style with lots of selection. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had lunch on the first day and again it was nice.

Location of hotel isnt great- its back up a good bit from the V&A waterfront. So if its that area you want to stay in then this hotel is not for you. I personally found the V&A area very packed & noisy so I prefered to be away from it. Now its not a million miles away but I would recommend getting a taxi as with everywhere in South Africa its not a good idea to walk about on your own.
However saying that I would definately go back to the hotel again & would sell my soul to the devil to go back to Cape Town. It truely truely is an exceptionally special country.

If you are going I would recommend you use this tour operator to book your trips.Kevin is the owner of the company-he's Scotish I think but has being living in Cape Town for over 20yrs. I booked him for our safari he was great- picked us up at hotel and gave us so much info on the drive- he answered all our questions big & small on animals, cape town & general stuff. At the safari park he stayed with us made sure we got breakfast & lunch and even had bino's for us- which no other tour op gave out. Also brought us on a small wine tasting tour which wasnt included!
kevin@afrukaecotours.co.za

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

A large group of 200 athletes and their families from the United States were guests for a week during International Jump Rope Competition in Capetown. Hotel staff was very gracious and assisted us throughout the week. Meals on site were good and service was also. Having read reviews we had concerns coming to the property, but it was a great experience. Accommodations were very good and rooms in good condition. Hotel management was eager to please and made many special arrangements for us. Housekeeping did a wonderful job. We were very pleased with the stay and enjoyed Capetown.

  • Disliked — Make sure you have correct electrical adapter
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

This is a good business hotel, small pool and garden area with good views over the harbour. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport and about 5 minutes from the waterfront.

As the hotel is above the town it can get quite windy and as I was on the top floor the door to the balcony rattled a bit.

The room was large and clean and I paid about 700 R a night.

The hotel shuttle bus was very good and delivered me to the Waterfront and home very efficiently.

In short a good business hotel, however I wouldn't recommend it for a family.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard

Address: Cnr. Melbourne & Coronation Roads | PO Box 2979, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Garden Court Eastern Boulevard)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mother City is an ever-popular travel destination that unfortunately has a reputation for over-priced accommodation. The Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard Hotel, assures affordability and everything else you have come to expect from Southern Sun. Offering spectacular views of Table Bay, this hotel affords easy access to the N2 which will take you to the CBD and some of the world’s most beautiful beaches in one direction and the delightful Southern Suburbs and Winelands in the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Eastern Boulevard Hotel Cape Town Central
Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.