We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and Pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SunSquare Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SunSquare Cape Town to your Saves list
SunSquare Cape Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mill Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Garden Court de Waal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
R1,460 (ZAR)
Ranked #66 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Durban
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Business and Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our 4th visit and is our first choice hotel when staying in Cape Town. We felt at home during our 4 night stay and just love the convenience of easy access and close proximity to everything. Freeway access to and from the hotel is easy and convenient. Only 20 min from the airport.
An excellent base to combine business in the city with sightseeing in and around Cape Town. Within walking distance from the Cape Town Gardens where one can feed the squirrels or visit the National Museum. Also close to Kloof street and Long street, the Gardens Shopping Centre, banks and a number of restaurants. There is a bus stop within 200m from the hotel where one can catch the sightseeing bus.
The back wing of the hotel has been upgraded and offers nice mountain views. They can be cold in winter and we rather prefer the older, but warmer front rooms with city and harbour views. The hotel has all the amenities including conference facilities. Staff are friendly and helpful and quickly obliged to special requests. Breakfasts are great with enough variety to suit all tastes.

Room Tip: Visitors from Europe or colder climates may prefer the rooms with mountain views as the front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at SunSquare Cape Town, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent stay at Garden Court De Waal.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location of the hotel, looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    56
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
41
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was very happy with our stay - our room was on the top (4th) floor, and had a magnificent view of table mountain - could see the cable car going up & down!
The hotel has been nicely upgraded: flat screen tvs & mini fridges in the room are a nice touch. Bed was also lovely & comfy.
The bathroom is slightly older, but fine..
Location wise - it's awesome. About a km away from Kloof & Long street, there are restaurants within a hundred metres to walk to, & it's 2 blocks from the Gardens shopping centre.
It's also super convenient to get on the highway for the southern suburbs.
Overall, I was very happy. The only issue I had was that the coffee from the machine was not great!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at SunSquare Cape Town, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review realting to your stay at the Garden Court De Waal.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the views and rooms and have also noted your comments about the coffee.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a good experience with this hotel in April 2013. Room clean, great beds, fridge with a view of the mountain,quiet (fourth floor) Room was small but adequate with wife and two young kids. The TV had all the sports and movie channels. Breakfast Great, we had some simple meals in the hotel at night as with young kids they were able to play downstairs while we sat on the balcony upstairs, reasonable kids menu. Staff were friendly at meal time and we asked for a few more mugs and towels in the room (as family of four) and this was sent to us immediately. Good pool area and patch of lawn. Remember this is a three star hotel not five star, it offers everything a three star should. Close to everything, and in my view because of all of the above is a bit better than Garden Court Mandela which we have also stayed at

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at SunSquare Cape Town, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the recent review realting to our hotel. It is always encouraging to receive such positive feedback about the hotel and staff.

We are pleased to see that we creat great memories for you and your family and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in March before doing the Garden Route. The room was more than adequate for our purposes as we had a full itinerary during the days and evenings. The staff were excellent in every way. The breakfasts were lovely with lots of choice and you could sit in the restaurant or out on the balcony. The pool area was nice to relax and unwind in and you wouldn`t think you were close to a main road.
The hotel was ideally located close to a stop for the hop on hop off bus and a shopping centre. We like to walk a lot and the hotel was about 40 minutes from the V&A Waterfront and we felt safe day or night. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at SunSquare Cape Town, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the recent review related to our hotel. It is always encouraging to receive such positive feedback about the hotel and staff.

Your comments are highly appreciated and I know the staff will be overjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to De Waal.

Kind regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice hotel under the Table Montain in a quite area, room easy but clean. With Spa and pool, kids were happy about it. The staff is very friendly and helpful. In our family room was no fridge. The location is excellent with a stunning view of the Table Mountain and quite close to the main attractions!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at SunSquare Cape Town, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. It is always encouraging to receive positive feedback about the hotel and staff.

We have noted your comment about the fridge and are pleased to say that they have arrived and in all the family rooms. We are pleased to see that we created great memories and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great location!! But....
We had made a booking weeks, no a few months before and specifically phoned after I booked online to confirm that we would get a room with a fridge as stated online. They assured me that all family rooms come standard with a fridge.
Upon arrival we realised no fridge, asked for one and they said unfornately there wasn't one. They would try find one or move us to another room. Two days later received a new fridge.
Then as usual, only 2 towels for 4 people ie family room!!!! Must we seriously always explain this concept to Garden Court??!!
The breakfasts were boring and lacked variety.
On the up side, the hotel was situated in a great area and it was easy to walk from there to certain destinations.
Because its cooler, it would be a great idea if the pool could be slightly heated. There were warm days but the pool was just icy cold and we watched as many of the guests were so disappointed at not being able to swim. Especially children!!
We only stay in Garden Court when we travel, from Gauteng to Natal and have always enjoyed fabulous service and perfect stay. This was the first time that we have been disappointed in a Garden Court hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at SunSquare Cape Town, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review related to your stay at our hotel.

We have noted all your comments about the towels and fridge would like to apologise for the inconvience caused during your stay. We are happy to announce that all our fridges are in our family rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to Garden Court De Waal.

Kind regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a great time. The staff is very helpful and extremely friendly.
The location is excellent with a stunning view of the Table Mountain and quite close to the main attractions!
We also decided to have dinner few times at the hotel as the food is good and in the evening the garden is so relaxing and quite.
I do recommend this hotel and hope to go back one day :)

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms with Table Mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at SunSquare Cape Town, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for for your recent review related to your stay with us at the Garden Court De Waal.

Your comments and positive feedback about the hotel and staff are highly appreciated. We are pleased to see that we created such great memories and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SunSquare Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Cape Town

Address: Mill Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Garden Court de Waal)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Cape Town 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a square on the block in the Mother City. SunSquare Cape Town is located in the vibrant and cosmopolitan suburb of The Gardens, on the edge of the Cape Town City Bowl. This trendy hotel offers guests more of what they want, making their hotel experience a memorable one. SunSquare Cape Town is close to the CBD as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre, whilst the Cape Town International Airport is only a short 20-minute drive from the hotel. For leisure travellers, the hotel is beautifully positioned at the base of Table Mountain - one of the new 'Seven Wonders of Nature' - and is close to Long Street, which has an array of day and night time activities with its vast selection of chic restaurants and boutique shops. The hotel is also located within close proximity to main attractions in the area, such as the V&A Waterfront and the gorgeous beaches of Camps Bay and Bloubergstrand. About the hotel SunSquare Cape Town combines affordability and comfort with modern accommodation for individuals who know exactly what they want. The spacious lobby extends into a bar area, providing a relaxing place for guests to socialise and enjoy themselves - chatting, working or listening to music. The lounge area leads off from the lobby and is yet another comfortable space where guests can read the newspaper, conduct business meetings, or just sit back and relax. Guests can also unwind and have a drink by the terrace, which looks over a lovely pool deck and has magnificent views of the city. For those guests who want to stay fit and healthy while staying at the hotel, the well-equipped gym comes in handy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your SunSquare Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court De Waal Hotel Cape Town Central
SunSquare Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunSquare Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.