We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to the Mother City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court de Waal

Save Saved
You added Garden Court de Waal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court de Waal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mill Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Visit to the Mother City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This has always been a good place for me to stop-over;Right in town and close to the freeways going to the business areas and the suburbs and yet somewhat quiet in pretty grounds with a decent view and a pool.

Room Tip: Rooms facing/with a view of Table Mountain are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at Garden Court de Waal, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review related to your stay at our hotel.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at Garden Court De Waal and looking forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
35
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are visiting Capetown for the first time its definitely a nice place to stay especially because of the location. You are able to visit most of Capetown easily, the staff is very helpful and friendly! Would recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at Garden Court de Waal, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback about our hotel and staff.

Your comments and high scoring are highly appreciated and I know the staff will be overjoyed as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regrds
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at the Garden Court de Waal in Cape Town from 1/18/2013-1/24/2013. I was with a group of 24, including 22 college students and 2 professors. Our room got robbed the second night of our stay while my roommate and I were at dinner. The robber(s) stole my $1,000 Nikon camera and lens, along with my credit card. My roomate got his new $1,500+ Cannon camera and iPad stolen. The safe in our room was BROKEN and so we hid these valuables under many clothes in our bags. Additionally, an entire family (mother, father, grandparent and child) were asleep in their room two stories above ours when the robber broke into their room- stealing the fathers wallet (which was recovered).

We met with the general manager, Deidre Strydom, who was helpful looking through the video from the night of the robbery. However, she did not offer ANY reimbursement for the incident whatsoever. We expected our stay free of charge at the least. Management did not even go out of their way to ensure that we were satisfied for the duration of our stay. For this reason, I say BEWARE- think twice about staying at this hotel for your own safety.

Room Tip: Make sure your safe works. Check with the manager, Ms. Strydom to make sure security is taking proac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Garden Court de Waal, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
The safety of our guests and the security of their personal belongings are of the utmost importance to the Garden Court de Waal. As is common practice around the world, we provide electronic safes where guests can lock valuables safely. I do understand that the safe was not operational on check in however the procedure would be to report a defective safe and we would repair it immediately or provide another alternative. When guests choose not to use the safe, as in this case, we investigate thoroughly to see if we can find out what happened.
In the case of Mr Green, there were no signs of tampering or unlawful key card entery into the room as found from the room key records, we identified that no staff members entered their room that evening or period under investigation.
We therefore informed Mr Green that the circumstances surrounding the incident remain inconclusive, and that the hotel cannot accept any responsibility for the reported loss. We communicated with him when he reported the theft, when we began our investigations, and when we had the investigation report.
We care very deeply about our guests, and their personal belongings. However, in this case, there is nothing to indicate involvement by hotel staff in the theft, or liability by the hotel. We sympathise with Mr Green, but the fact remains that the room safe was there for the protection of their valuables, and it was unused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was a 5 star location for easy access to highways, convenience, friendly, efficient and professional service from all staff....from check in to check out! I would certainly recommend it for leisure travellers. Noeline D

Room Tip: Request a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at Garden Court de Waal, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review related to your stay at our hotel.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Garden Court De Waal and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanger, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, with my family, loved the location. Hotel is extremely child friendly. Breakfast was perfect, catered for all needs, as i dont eat beef or pork, there is always chicken or fish available. rooms are comfortable and spacious. Staff were very friendly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at Garden Court de Waal, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review related to your stay at our hotel.

We appreciate the positive feedback about your recent stay at Garden Court De Waal and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A very well positioned hotel, secure and safe parking, clean, ideal for a business overnight. Bathroom did however need upgrading and attention, (however may only been the one I stayed in) (loose, chipped tiles, silicon patching). Aircon noisy (old) if kept on while sleeping.Otherwise friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Top floor, mountain facing, end of passage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidre S, Manager at Garden Court de Waal, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Valued Gues

Thank you for your recent review relating to your stay at our hotel.

We have noted your comments and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your recent stay. We will be starting with a refurbishment in April with our bathroom and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Deidre Strydom
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

For location this is 5 stars as it not far from access to roads to Table Mountain. however the hotel needs a huge upgrade it decent but needs to be modernised. Breakfast was also adequate but lacks variety. and needs to cater for halaal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Court de Waal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court de Waal

Address: Mill Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court de Waal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'll be back on the go by Spring! There are some things you just can't do on the go, like getting a facelift. At Garden Court de Waal we are closing our doors for a few short months from 1st April to 31st August 2014to work on our chic new look. By Spring you will have another great reason to visit this smart hotel. Our completely refurbished spacious bedrooms will welcome you with super comfortable furnishing and warm lighting features. You will be inspired to stay connected with our contemporary flat screen televisions, and you'll find inspiration when you work on our ultra modern writing desks. The new chrome bathroom fittings and vibrant ceramic tiles, in-room fridges, and super-cool air conditioners will ensure that your stay is rejuvenated. Garden Court de Waal will soon be welcoming you back for the big reveal, when we'll be asking, "How do we look?" This modern hotel, nestled on the slopes of Table Mountain offers comfort and excellent value for money. Conveniently situated with easy access to Cape Town's main tourist routes, this homely accommodation offering is also a mere 2 km from the city centre, offering travelers handy access to Cape Town's main attractions. With good facilities, including Internet access, this pleasant hotel offers everything needed for business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Garden Court de Waal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court De Waal Hotel Cape Town Central
Garden Court De Waal Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court de Waal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.