We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise during my first time in Cape Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SunSquare Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SunSquare Cape Town to your Saves list
SunSquare Cape Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mill Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Garden Court de Waal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase
Ranked #50 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice surprise during my first time in Cape Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed in Garden Court de Waal from 8th to 13th November, 2011. As it was part of a great flight+hotel internet deal, I was a bit scared of what I would find. Great surprise! The room was very clean, nice view to the Table Mountain (so we could see whether toe top was too clody or not), a huge choice of food for breakfast, kind and attentive staff. Close to the Waterfront, reachable by a taxii ride that didn't cost more than 70 rands. Definitely worth staying there. The low point was internet access, payable, slow and with confusing instructions.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    75
    29
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
47
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prasanta45
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The hotel is good value for money, has a good location, rooms are large and fairly well furnished. The breakfast spread is good.
What spoils the experience is first the unfriendly staff -- they seem unhappy to see you and secondly the terrible state of the plumbing. This was not peculiar to my room, my friends in two other rooms had similar plumbing problem.
Inspite of the problems its a place where we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week B and B. We were concerned that the total cost for a week was so low that we had made a mistake. What a surprise therefore to find such a clean well kept room, service was so polite and excellent from all the staff we dealt with and maintenance fixed a small bathroom problem within the hour. We had arrived after having been robbed of belongings in Franschhoek and really wanted to go home, but we soon settled by the first morning when we saw what was available for breakfast and are thoughts of "too cheap a stay" put at rest.
The hotel is centrally situated--easy to get to Table Mountain and the Waterfront, and close by is the Gardens Shopping centre. One negative comment was the poolside being close to a busy road was noisy and the occcasional diesel fumes blew over, but then the hotel is not new and no doubt would not be designed that way today.
The resturant is adequate if you want to stay in or you can use room service for the same items. If they are busy they provide a buffet supper.
All told good value--would stay again.. Tip book early and if you over 63 tell them.

Room Tip: Ice machine is on second floor--noisy. Ask for one slightly away from the lifts, and with a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I and some friends stayed here for the 2012 jazz festival and we found it exceptional value for money. The rooms were clean, fresh and more than adequate. The reception desk was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was very good and substantial. All in all I would heartily recommend the hotel and we will definitely stay in it again.

Room Tip: Ask for the paraplegic room if it's available, it's far more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton,South Africa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I had not stayed in a South African 3* hotel for years, but needed an inexpensive option for a 4 day business trip. Took a chance & was glad. The hotel is centrally situated and spotlessly clean. White cotton linen on the two double beds. Not fully equipped rooms & finishes a bit old (but upgraded here and there), but then I really didn't expect more from a 3*. The breakfast was more than adequate, the swimming pool refreshing and sparkling clean, even the lifts were clean! I booked through Southern Sun Seniors Club for all South African residents over 63 yrs, which made this a bargain of a life time.

Room Tip: The mountain side could have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband booked us into the Southern Sun De Waal after reading reviews on this page, however I feel that the hotel doesn't run according to 3* standard, in fact I would rate this hotel in South African terms 1*. We found 2 lizzrds in our room on arrival, the shower curtain stunk damp and the bathroom was cramped, the towels were torn, carpets dirty and he room was dark and dingy. The staff were very friendly and that's about it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Lovely view of the mountain and easy access with the car. Taxi into town is under 60 Rand. Rooms are clean, tidy and have good selection of cable tv channels. Breakfast had a reasonable selection of cooked, pasteries and fruit. Internet was exceptionally terrible for all 3 days.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SunSquare Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Cape Town

Address: Mill Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Garden Court de Waal)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Cape Town 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a square on the block in the Mother City. SunSquare Cape Town is located in the vibrant and cosmopolitan suburb of The Gardens, on the edge of the Cape Town City Bowl. This trendy hotel offers guests more of what they want, making their hotel experience a memorable one. SunSquare Cape Town is close to the CBD as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre, whilst the Cape Town International Airport is only a short 20-minute drive from the hotel. For leisure travellers, the hotel is beautifully positioned at the base of Table Mountain - one of the new 'Seven Wonders of Nature' - and is close to Long Street, which has an array of day and night time activities with its vast selection of chic restaurants and boutique shops. The hotel is also located within close proximity to main attractions in the area, such as the V&A Waterfront and the gorgeous beaches of Camps Bay and Bloubergstrand. About the hotel SunSquare Cape Town combines affordability and comfort with modern accommodation for individuals who know exactly what they want. The spacious lobby extends into a bar area, providing a relaxing place for guests to socialise and enjoy themselves - chatting, working or listening to music. The lounge area leads off from the lobby and is yet another comfortable space where guests can read the newspaper, conduct business meetings, or just sit back and relax. Guests can also unwind and have a drink by the terrace, which looks over a lovely pool deck and has magnificent views of the city. For those guests who want to stay fit and healthy while staying at the hotel, the well-equipped gym comes in handy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your SunSquare Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court De Waal Hotel Cape Town Central
SunSquare Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunSquare Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.