We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wonderful entertainment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro

Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro
229 Main Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 434 4497
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enveloped in the quaint decor of the Cape, international and local guests of all ages, whilst enjoying a scrumptious buffet and Cape wines, will be transported into the world of entertainment featuring talented artists performing a variety of shows from cabaret, to jazz, to comedy. In our production "Kaapse Stories from the Mother City", produced by Richard Loring and written and directed by award winning Basil Appollis, we meet a Cape family in a show filled with the humour, intoxicating rhythm and soulful songs unique to Cape Town. Forged from the hardships and misfortunes of the past, emerges a triumphant community - the original 'Rainbow Nation'.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful entertainment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The show was rousing and moving with a very talented cast and the buffet was excellent. Price was also very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    50
    17
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great evening out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a ball. A definite Cape Town special. A show full of surprises that at times make you think. Good food. a lovely atmosphere and loads of fun. I can definitively recommend this to locals as well as visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a great evening out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

A must for locals and visitors alike. Great entertainment with a bit of historic background to it. Good food and a lovely atmosphere. We loved it. This show is full of surprises which in a way make you think. I will always recommend this as a Cape Town special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great evening of entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We went here for our staff function and the team had a great time. If you are non white you will relate to the characters on the musical. The booze is also reasonably priced and the food is an excellent home cooked meal. Only tragedy was the dessert which was disappointing compared to the amazing main dish. Management could also improve the aircon on a busy night.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice surprise for our Anniversary Meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the food, and were well looked after, thanks to Gerard and his staff, it was a memorable night for our anniversary. The show put on was excellent, and the cast were in and out of the tables as the show progressed. A typical South African meal was provided and this was a nice change from the run of the mill meals available in most restaurants.
I would say to anybody please go and try the food yourself in the bistro and catch a show if they are on. It is well worth the visit. Thank you Richard's Bistro and Supper stage.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.