We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supper and Song” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro

Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro
229 Main Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
0214344497
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enveloped in the quaint décor of the Cape and with a view of RobbenIsland through large picture windows, International and local guests of all ages, whilst enjoying a scrumptious buffet and Cape wines, will be transported into the world of entertainment, featuring talentedartists performing a variety of shows from cabaret, to jazz, to comedy. In this interactive new production “Kaapse Stories from the Mother City”, produced by Richard Loring and written and directed by award winning Basil Appollis, we meet a Cape family in a show filled with the humour, intoxicating rhythm and soulful songs unique to Cape Town. Forged from the hardships and misfortunes of the past, emerges a triumphant community - the original ‘Rainbow Nation'. This stylish late-night bar favoured by Showbiz personalities, is decorated with memorabilia from Richard's career years in musical theatre, television, records, movies and cabaret and gives you a peak behind the scenes of the world of entertainment.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Supper and Song”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a breath of fresh air and testament to how the arts knows no prejudice...it just gets in there and grabs you...no matter where you're sitting!

Charming local experience with Pa Joe Kleintjies leading the soulful cast in song and dance with his twinkling eyes hinting at his warm quality and charisma not being limited to his on stage persona. This colourful production was delivered with pizzazz and passion, despite the rather small turnout - I would recommend they pack away the large number of unused tables on a quiet night to enhance the cosy theater ambiance.

The buffet was an outstanding array of traditional Cape Malay and traditional 'Boerekos' favourites. Prawn and Chicken Curry, potato bake and Malva pudding hit the spot on a blustery autumn evening. The show has a definite local slant and out of towners or foreign visitors can, upon per-arrangement, receive a programme synopsis of the show printed in no less than 12 languages to help put this spirited show into context.

I enjoyed the interaction with the cast and the wonderful performances which made me extra proudly South African - what talent we have in our country!

I did not enjoy being harassed by beggars once we'd left the supper stage and its perhaps an idea for Richard's Supper Stage and Bistro to employ a security presence to ensure patrons do not leave with a bad taste in their mouth.

It was particularly nice to meet co-owner Roland Seidel who seemed to be enjoying the show as if he'd seen it for the very first time!

Thanks to all who made this evening possible, it was most memorable!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germandt G, Guest Relations Manager at Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful response.
We are so glad that you had a good time at Richard's, where our aim is to introduce any visitor to Cape Town to the local culture through song and dance.
We hope that you took a piece of Cape Town with you, wherever you live!

Kind Regards,

Germandt Geldenhuys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    80
    23
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little painful, although mixed review.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We didn't go to the show upstairs, as all we wanted was something to eat, but you could certainly hear & feel it going on. The Bistro itself was empty at 9pm & somewhat cold, with music at a volume to try & drown out what was going on upstairs; lighting a little too bright for that time of the night.
Despite being the only customers, service was polite but clumsy & a little overbearing; the waiter hanging beside your table for just that 30 seconds too long to make you feel uncomfortable.
I had a very agreeable glass of a local Sauvingnon Blanc, I was prepared to order a bottle of something that really tickled my fancy, but sadly it was out of stock. The wine list is both comprehensive & varied, but this can set you up for disappointment - establishments of this size
can rarely afford to carry it all, and the waiter knew nothing whatsoever about the wines - ambitious is probablly more apt.

My partner had a 'fresh apple juice', which was anything but, in fact distinctly off and had to be sent back pronto, the barman expressing his disdain very publicly. It was disturbing seeing it poured from a larger 5 litre plastic can, which had clearly seen better days - no proper bar pourers here. Apple juice is not a common request in a bistro, and should not only be ordered, but also purchased as stock with caution, in sensible quantities. The waiter was gracious, but unnecessarily fawning at the same time.
One cannot complain about portion sizes, they were way too large for us and we found it off-putting; I specifically asked for a small portion, but didn't see the waiter go and talk to anyone about it. I tried the chicken in Marsala, cream & mushroom sauce, which is a difficult dish to get right at the best of times - if it doesn't come straight from pan to table, then it is inclined to curdle & lose it's attractiveness, which sadly is what happened here. It was served on a bed of basically mushy, sliced potatoes with 'Mediterranean' roast veg, which rather seemed to me to be of the frozen variety spent hanging around in a bain marie. As mentioned, the sauce was separating & had too much wholegrain mustard for my liking.
My partner tried the Portuguese half roast, lemon and herb chicken - basically Nandos with bad, soggy chips & a wilted salad threatening the whole thing.
It seemed to us that the Bistro itself was playing second fiddle to the show & buffet going on upstairs, chef spending more time chatting to the barman than thinking about anything remotely epicurean; we were evidently an inconvenience to them. The old addage appears to be true, you will always get poorly constructed food in an empty restaurant, especially in ones with a plethora of dishes on the menu.
Overall the experience was disappointing, it would not have been difficult to do better in my view, and I did feel a little sorry for our waiter; he wasn't trained to a good standard & I couldn't help thinking he was a little afraid of his colleagues, or management. Good waiters need to be confident in conveying to the kitchen and bar what the customer wants, and those staff should have the good grace to take orders from the waiting staff.
Richard's supper Bistro may be able to put on a good show upstairs, but it fails to achieve this downstairs!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Owner at Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Robert!
I am terribly sorry about the very poor experience you had at our Bistro - and at the same time we are most grateful for your great effort to describe our shortcomings in detail. We will immediately take up your comments with our colleagues and we shall make absolutely sure that that there can be no repetition of the problems you described.
As a sign of our appreciation and apology - we would like you to allow us to invite you back to Richard's for our show "Kaapse stories from the mother City". Kindly let us know whether and where we may forward to you two complimentary tickets to the value of R 800 .
Once again we apologize for the bad experience you had and we hope to be able to welcome you soon for a better experience at Richard's. Have a good holiday /Roland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What an experience! For anyone wanting to get some Cape Town flavour, both food and on stage, this is a must.

Fantastic decor, excellent example of hospitality, impeccable service, delicious Cape Town dishes and to top it off, a showcase of local talent which will blow your mind.

Local is definately lekka!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germandt G, Guest Relations Manager at Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Antheatravel,

We are so glad that you had such a great time. It warms our hearts to know that even the locals are appreciative of the product and that the show is not a "tourist trap" as these things sometimes tend to be. We are thrilled that you had a lekka time!

Thank you for the feedback,

Germandt Geldenhuys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OK but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a Bistro review. I have rated as average because the food was average. The service however was excellent and the staff very friendly. The Bistro itself lacked atmosphere. The highlight of the visit was the Dom Pedro for dessert.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germandt G, Manager at Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Ian,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience at Richard's.

We are so sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with the quality of the food, but we are happy to hear that our wonderful staff lived up to their reputation once again.

We do hope to see you here in the future. Who knows, we might just be able to change your mind about us?

Have a wonderful day!

Germandt Geldenhuys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We only had breakfasts there and they were great - lovely choice and delicious. The rye bread was the best that we have ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's Supper Stage And Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.