We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vip Cape Lodge

Vip Cape Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vip Cape Lodge to your Saves list
Vip Cape Lodge
11 Newport Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Had a 5 night stay here, clean rooms,friendly and helpfull owners and staff. The 2 single beds joint together wernt ideal however. Location is perfect, just under table mountain, quiet and safe neighbourhood, myciti bus network is also very efficient with a stop close by. Looking forward to going back this coming festive season again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
5
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Self-catering is best and very economical, it was fine but need to change the linen every after 3 or 4 days, teas and coffees need to be refilled every after check out new guests should not get the left overs and the toilet soaps to be new and refilled and also a shower cape to be placed and shower gel and condition as token of welcome. I liked the quietness of the place and internet connections and the atmosphere. The rooms should be checked before new arrivals especially the kitchen that it is clean and towels were fine. I will still come to visit with my family and will refer my friends and colleague to stay there. As for the owners they were friendly and welcoming so professional. Thanks to them they made my stay easy and comfortable. Security is best. Thanks and best of luck in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed five nights at this guesthouse and for the little money we paid it was great value ! Very friendly owners and for us perfect location ! Between city and camps bay . Very nice . With ensuite bathroom and little kitchen . We would always come back !

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this pension. It´s very safe place quite close to the center and to the Table mountain. Owner is realy great person. She was very helpful to us. Thanks for this. I can highly reccommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have been staying at the VIP Cape Lodge for approximately five months and what an amazing experience, friendly, family environment, peaceful and loving. Par sh is always accommodating in all aspects evn when you are ill she will go that extra mile to give you medication. Irene and Steven who takes care of the place is totally amazing so helpful at all times even when they are off duty. Everyone just goes that extra mile and i defnitely will recommend the VIP Cape Lodge for good value for money accommodation in the Mother City, close to the hub of Cape Town Kloof Street and Long Street. I will defnitely come back here again WAY TO GO PARSH

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the VIP Cape Lodge. This time on my own, the 1st time was with my Hubby. The lodge is quiet, calm, with good situation close to city centre, trendy Kloof Road, the airport, and easy trip thru to Claremont and Newlands - all against the traffic at peak times. The rooms are comfortable with limited frills and fancies which allows them to keep the costs reasonable and not to break the budget. All rooms (except for room 5) are fully self-catering with TV and heaters. I am booked to stay again in October with my hubby.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms 1 - 4 are quieter and a better option than room 6. Room 5 may share the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Thank you so very much, we had a wonderful, too short stay, Irene was amazing, the place, serene, the perfect hideaway, from everyone and everything, so close to the Mountain, with just a hint of German influence, and, of course, Nala.


Thank you again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vip Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vip Cape Lodge

Address: 11 Newport Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Vip Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Cape Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vip Cape Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.