We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vip Cape Lodge

Vip Cape Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vip Cape Lodge to your Saves list
Vip Cape Lodge
11 Newport Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The only positive thing about this lodge is its location. Very central. The room we stayed in was terrible. The beds were old&worn out and sagged in the middle. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet flush mechanism did not release which was very annoying. The towels we were given were also old. There was no lounge area to speak of with the most uncomfortabLe bench to sit on. Some of th cupboards in th kitchen were broken, there was no freezer. The rooms were not cleaned for the duration of our stay. There was very poor reception on th tv. A big problem was also the lack of secure parking. We had to park on the road outside. All in all definitely not worth the money we spent and would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
5
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McGregor, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this well-situated accommodation. The picture gives the impression that your car will be in the driveway, but it is actually street parking unless you want to pay an extra fee. It is a safe area, however. The room was decent, but not very clean. Bugs on the floor, a hair clip from a prior guest, and dirty mirrors. The worst aspect was that the beds were extremely uncomfortable. In our room, 4 light bulbs (globes) were out or missing. The proprieter promised to get the lights fixed for us, but did nothing. When I mentioned this at our departure, she said that she had tried very hard but that the stores had closed early. I'm badly put off by such "storytelling"... Unfortunately, the great location was cancelled out by our sore backs and negative experiences. I travel to Cape Town quite a bit and have lived in South Africa for 8 years (US expat). I will not use this establishment again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This self-catering lodge is a much better value than the backpacker places in the area. It is owned and run by a very friendly and helpful family. My daughter and I really enjoyed having our own shower and kitchen, not to mention peace and quiet! I will definitely stay there next time I visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our short stay at VIP Cape Lodge was a great surprise. Although t is just off the busy Kloof Nek Road, the lodge is quiet and easy to get too. The flat was fully equipped for self-catering, however we did not use any of the facilities and chose to rather try out all the amazing restaurants close by. I am sorry we could not stay for longer and will certainly make an effort to return for a longer stay. I would have no problem recommending this lodge as it is suitable for either a family stay or a business traveller. The hosts are amazing and open to any suggestions that will enhance your stay. They are also approachable to negotiate a small discount for longer stays.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disapointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vip Cape Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vip Cape Lodge

Address: 11 Newport Street, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vip Cape Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Cape Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vip Cape Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.