We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AfricanHome Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AfricanHome Guesthouse to your Saves list
AfricanHome Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Bickley Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 5 nights in January and we had a wonderful experience. The hosts took excellent care of us and had great recommendations about restaurants and activities. Our room was beautiful and the location of the guesthouse was perfect, central but peaceful, an easy walk to restaurants or the beach. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
87
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

AfricanHome was recommended to us by a trusted friend, so in addition to looking forward to escaping the winter for a few days, we could not wait to see the much-talked-about place !

Turns out that Ralf and Stephan have done an amazing job in creating a “home away from home” not only by re-furbishing and decorating the property, using a great mix of modern and local furniture and appliances, but simply by being great hosts.
For the “lovers of facts”: The whole place it spotlessly clean, offers serious laid-back-ness by the pool, privacy on the terrace or in the chill-out-area, and comes with an amazingly warm and welcoming atmosphere. There was an extensive choice with regards to the breakfast buffet, including different types of coffee, fresh juice, fresh fruit / vegetables, rolls, bread, sausage, cheese, sweet and salty spreads, cereals, hors d’oeuvres - and warm breakfast was cooked according to one’s taste. Snacks and drinks are even available round the clock. The guesthouse is conveniently located in Sea Point, from where you can reach the Waterfront and brilliant restaurants (you gotta test Hussar Grill and La Bohème) in easy walking distance. A stop for the hop-on-hop-off bus tour is just a few minutes walk. Alternatively a cab ride to nearly everywhere in the city is around 3-5€.

What really made the difference to other places we have stayed during our trip, is, that both of the owners kept going the extra-mile to make sure, we felt comfortable. It’s the warm welcome upon arrival as well as the likes of flowers on the plates during breakfast, chocolates on the pillow in the evening, their local knowledge and recommendations re. "what-to-see-what-to-do-and-how-to-get-there" and the friendliness of the staff at all times that really need to be pointed out.

We had a brilliant time and would definitely stay there again once we are back in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at AfricanHome for 7 days in February and had a wonderful stay. Ralf & Stefan were fantastic hosts and helped us no end with recommendations, contacts and how to get the best out of our stay. The accommodation itself is finished to a very high standard and everything is brand new and immaculate. Breakfast was excellent and Ralf's personal delivery of HP Sauce to go with bacon and eggs every morning was the perfect finishing touch for an English visitor! There is secure car parking which is very useful, although the car park is fairly tight until you get used to it!

I would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had one of the new rooms upstairs, which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I spent 10 days here as a solo traveller. The hosts Ralf & Stefan were very friendly and welcoming & all the staff very polite & friendly.
The property is beautifully restored with a chic contemporary feel. The rooms are quiet, spacious and very comfortable. Every attention to detail is thought about & it quickly felt like a home from home.
I have stayed in several guest houses in Cape Town over the years. African Home Guest House is by far my favourite. It has the service of a luxury hotel without the formality.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, offering to carry our bags from the car to booking a restaurant or giving advice on where to eat and drink.
Our room was spotlessly clean with wonderful views over Seapoint. The bed was very comfortable with quality linen.
The pool area is a real delight, with areas of both shade and sun.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The AfricanHome Guest House has just been opened a couple of months ago. Therefore all rooms and the pool/garden are still in best condition. One of the few guesthouses we are aware of with a real pool which allows more than just taking a dip into the water.

The two hosts and some of their really friendly staff are constantly present, making the stay really comfortable and pleasant. We really enjoyed the property and its great location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleinmachnow, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and myseld stayd four nights in this wonderful B&B in Sea Point. We had chosen it beacause of the great reviews and the sensational feedback we had read about at tripadvisor.
What can we say? Everything got even better than we had expected. This started with the sensational service from Ralf and Stefan asking us via email whether we want to do something special at New Year's Eve or whether they can already place a reservation for a restaurant or something else. That's why we could enjoy a fantastic dinner at the Roundhouse as Ralf reserved a table for us two already in July 2012 for Jan 2nd 2013. Otherwise we wouldn't have had any chance!!! And this was beacuse of their proactive asking - not due to my requst!
Even during our stay the took care of us and other guests in the best possible way. They were alwys there for us and had excellent advises for us. Example: They managed to reserve a table in a great restaurant for New Year's Eve at the last minute.
The Guesthouse itself, icluding the lovely garden and the swimming pool is amazing, the location perfect for a stay in Capetown but in a much more relaxed athmosphere. The rooms are excellent incl. WiFi. We ha a room with a balcony and a great view. The entire atmosphere in this guesthouse is just as in a big family and built on faith. Breakfast was extraordinary and always served with a smile!!!
We will definitely ask again for a room when we plan to come to Capetwon again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AfricanHome Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AfricanHome Guesthouse

Address: 17 Bickley Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AfricanHome Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1790 as the hunting lodge of Lord Nelson, the AfricanHome guesthouse is one of the oldest buildings in this suburb of Cape Town, situated only 2 blocks away from the Atlantic Seabord. It is a very peaceful oasis in the middle of this buzzling city, in walking distance to many restaurants and to the Waterfront, just 2 km away from Clifton Beaches and famous Long Street. New German owners who offer a fabulous breakfast buffet. Enjoy a relaxing day at the huge sparkling salt water pool being spoilt from our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AfricanHome Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AfricanHome Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AfricanHome Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.