We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Spur

Seven Spur
Arthur's Rd | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8060, South Africa
+27 21 439 5536
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Fast Food, Dessert, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Seven Spur in Sea Point looks forward to welcoming you and your family to a distinctive combination of family fun, great value and generous portions of tasty food. Join South Africa's most loved family restaurant for the best steak, burgers and ribs served in a warm, relaxed environment. We offer something for everyone on our famous Spur Menu, so bring the kids along for your favourite meal and dessert. Sit back, relax and enjoy the Spur experience!
Stratford upon Avon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“good and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

First time visited one of these chains. Well worth the effort to find it. lots of food of good quality and very reasonably priced

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laraspirit, Owner at Seven Spur, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Ian


Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you back in the store soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Monday specials!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am a sucker for specials and every Monday we travel from Hout Bay to Sea Point for our burger special. Two for the price of one, usually at least four of us sometimes more! Very busy and fairly noisey, I don't mind. Great staff, friendly, helpful and great value for money AND no corkage. Love the hill billy song in the middle of the evening and lots of happy birthdays! Well done Alan Ambor you are the king of Spur!!!!! Ex watress Walter's Grill which is no more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laraspirit, Public Relations Manager at Seven Spur, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi Ruth, thanks for your continous and loyal support. We look forward to seeing you next Monday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“One of the first”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Spurs chain of restaurants is very big in South Africa. THe 7 Spurs is one of the first to have opened although the position of the restaurant has changed. It is very large and situated in Arthurs Road. If youre wanting a hamburger this is the place to go. They also have steak which i find not too tender most times and being a family type restaurant I find the prices of their steaks similar to other restaurants where you get better quality. This restaurant is great for little children as they have play areas for them. THey have a kiddies menu as well as a menu for seniors.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laraspirit, Public Relations Manager at Seven Spur, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks, we are glad you had a good experience with us. When you come again we will make sure your steak is just how you like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skene, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I often go to the Seven Spur in Sea Pont to dine. So far I have never been disappointed. The food is good and the service is nice and friendly. You feel good taken care of at this place when it comes to food, care and service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Fast tasty food in restaurant atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were looking for some where accessible for my 94 year young mother, and since this Spur is close to her home, the Spur it was.
It was the night of the biggest timed cycle race in the world, and the large restaurant was very busy, almost full. I had participated in that days race so the large rump was my choice, with my wife ordering a salad, and my mother calamari.
Service was a mite slow, but we enjoyed the food, and the buzzing atmosphere.The restaurant has special facilities for the young ones, whom were noticeably absent.
Good food, atmosphere ok, would recommend this restaurant

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Spur also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Seven Spur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Spur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.