We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clive is the BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cape Town Tour Guide Co.

The Cape Town Tour Guide Co.
17 Joubert Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 73 3084745
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our experienced team specializes in arranging customized private tours for small groups and families visiting Cape Town and South Africa. Our passion is delivering a high quality and authentic customized touring experience to the discerning visitor. At The Cape Town Tour Guide Co. Clive de Bruyne leads a small, expert team of professionally certified and experienced private guides who know well that you have unique needs and expectations when you travel.
chicago
1 review
“Clive is the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Clive was a first rate guide in all respects. He is prompt, courteous, flexible and has a great storehouse of knowledge about the history of his country. He is not intrusive, but if you want to discuss anything from economics, cultural history or current politics he is available to inform in the most pleasant manner imaginable. In short, he is all good and we have met none better in decades of travel around the world.
----- Original Message -----

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I chose Cape Town as our first stop in South Africa. Our trip had been arrranged through a travel agency in Dallas, and we had a great experience with Clive De Bruyne. He had received the itinerary from the various travel agents. We asked him to alter it to fit in more with what we had read about and really wanted to do and see. He very graciously accommodated our requests. We found Clive to be extremely knowledgable, very gracious and responsive. We loved our experience in Cape Town and the learning experience with Clive.

Would certainly ask for him again.

Kay and Frank Yeager

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
“Just perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Clive was not just the perfect tour guide - absolutely well prepared and experienced. It was a pleasure to be with him as a warm hearted and humorous person. What we really enjoyed: The trip was absolutely taylor-made and at any time he was open for a flexible handling. So one afternoon we decided to do an early morning hike before sunset and the next morning we have been up the hill in absolute darkness to have breakfast at the peak during sunset. An unforgettable experience!!! Clive made also perfect recommendations for restaurants in top quality. We will definitely come back to Capetown and definitely ask Clive for an unforgettable tour guidance again!
E. W. and A. Zurhorst from Germany

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“See the town with Clive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Be sure to use Cape Town Tour Guide Co. Clive made sure we saw all the sights. Table Mountain is well worth the ride to the top.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The BEST Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I can only echo the other reviews. My husband and I found Clive very personable and knowledgeable and one of the best guides we have ever had. Unfortunately when I started to book our trip I had not found Clive yet, if I had I would have used him for all of our tours and bookings. He did a Cape Town day tour with us and then a 3 day Garden Route Tour. Not only did Clive give us a history of the area, but he carried on interesting conversations with us. This was more like going around with a friend then just a guide. My husband is in his late 70s so was not up for walking great distances - Clive made it easy for us. He'd take us on the walk, then find a cafe for us and then run back and bring the car around. He took us to Dupio Zero for lunch - they have the best Italian food and the most wonderful ice coffee. Be sure to try it.
I can't thank Clive enough for making our tours most enjoyable.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cape Town Tour Guide Co. also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Cape Town Tour Guide Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cape Town Tour Guide Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.