We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, big portions and very reasonable. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Grotto Restaurant

La Grotto Restaurant
126 Main Road | Plumstead, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021 797 8420
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Description: La Grotto Restaurant established in 1972 is the oldest restaurant in the Southern Suburbs of Cape Town.Renown for their exceptional seafood & steaks, La Grotto celebrates it's 40th year in business this year.Owner / operator Gary Farinha has been in the restaurant trade for more than 25 years, starting out in Pretoria under Master Chef Gasparino Rosselli. Gary and his wife Sherri moved to Cape Town 20 years ago, owning and operating restaurants in the Strand & Gordons Bay for almost 15 years. Most recently Gary was the Food & Beverage manager at the world famous Chapman's Peak Hotel in Hout Bay.Come and enjoy an evening of exceptional food, great service and a wonderful atmosphere.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“No frills, big portions and very reasonable. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Don't expect to find a fancy resturant with a similiar price tag -this no frills resturant that serves just good old fashioned food at a reasonable price is worthy of a visit. The portions are big and the owner ever present to address any concerns.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Winners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have been going to La Grotto for years and when the new owner took over we were concerned but we had absolutely nothing to worry about! Its is still excellent and consistent with many of the original menu items still available and really tasty. Its casual and old fashioned but its great and the food is hearty!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnerton, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Catering for Vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

One evening Gary invited people for a dinner/dance event with a set menu. My wife and I told him we are vegetarians and he prepared a most amazing vegetarian meal for us, including starter, main course and desert. We've learnt over the years that some restaurants will go out of their way to make vegetarians feel welcome. Thank you Gary.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“No nonsense good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Great food, very generous portions and superb value for money. There are no frills, but this just helps make it a place where you can eat at almost every day. Never fails to satify. I will keep coming back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Pepper Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The best steaks in Cape Town. Love it. A nice family restaurant!!!! Its a must when you come to Cape Town

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotto Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Grotto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grotto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.