We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside seating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Extrablatt

Cafe Extrablatt
Main Road | gegenüber von Stadium, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 21 434 3759
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night Food, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night Food, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outside seating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Somewhat of a bar scene with bar food, but it was fine. We sat outside which was very pleasant and it was close to our B&B. The food was tasty but not gourmet. More like a chain restaurant, but if you are hungry and don't have a reservation, not a problem.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Crap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Terrible service, we waited over an hour for our meals, and we complained about one of our meals, and the manager did not have the guts to come and talk to us and did not replace the meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We waited more than an hour for our food which was grossly overpriced. I complained and was told that the meagre piece of veal snitczel (not bigger than a Big Mac) which costs more than 50 bucks is the portion size they serve and they would bring me the same size meal. Whatever! Don't waste your time here.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average, could be more authentic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stumbled into Cafe Extrablatt on a night out.
The Extrablatt cafe chain is a German franchise, or so I am told.
It is being marketed as a 'bistro/ restaurant and occupies a two story building. Upstairs more lounge style, with big, comfy seats.
The decor is European/ Parisian- chic and the menu is rather extensive.

They offer traditional German style dishes but also cater for the South African palate with a few trusted favourites as well as burgers and pizza.

All in all, decently priced food which can be a hit-or-miss and the service is a bit slow. I personally would have liked to see more German and less local dishes.

They are on the right track, i will be back to try the breakfast which looks appealing.

TIP: Parking is a problem in the area, so go early - unless you are willing to park across the road in the car park for 'free parking' - plagued by inebriated parking attendants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It has been a quiet afternoon and the Cafe has been empty. Being an European owner I expected a better quality of food - especially from Austrian dishes. We had the "Roulade" which has been overcooked, the roast potatoes has been deep fried and were tough.Lack of supervision or lack of interest. Did not ry the rest, as it has been off putting.would not recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Extrablatt also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Extrablatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Extrablatt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.