We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little place to while away a day or two.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquila Private Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aquila Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 1861, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect little place to while away a day or two.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Certainly not a Kruger National Park, but what can you expect, it's only two hours from Cape Town. Is it like a big European Zoo, no not really, it's far better than that, the animals are right there, I did the game drives and quad biking, both excellent fun.

The estate would be a great place to hang out for a couple fo days, sit arounfd the pool etc, horse ride maybe, think about it there's more to life than The Big Five (even though you are almost guarenteed to see them all).

The accom and food/drink are excellent too, we were led around by Tyler (think big bokker type) in his open 4*4, a great sense of humor and knowledge of the park. Beware of the seasons, in June the mornings are cold, take a coat.

I went on my own while at a business trip loose end, would I'd take my family back if they were in SA with me? Yes I would EOS.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
26
30
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We saw all of the big 5 animals on each day of our stay. The staff were very welcoming and always willing to help. The details were all taken care of and our days were completely hassle-free. The food and rooms were good. The weather was cold, but this is the norm for this time of year. I will be recommending Aquila to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our whole family decided to go away for the weekend. None of us were at a game reserve before, so it was a first for all. We had 2 full days of adventure! Quad biking, game drives, horse rides and awesome meals! :) My sister has 2 kids and they had plenty of activities to keep them occupied. Spacious grounds, beautiful scenery and awesome company. A great family weekend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Finally the management of the Aquila Game reserve has decided to refund me a part of the stolen money. But still don´t leave your valuable articles in the room during game drive!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We (2 moms with daughters) visited Aquila Game Reserve for one night in the easter holidays. Everything seemed relaxed and friendly, we felt comfortable and safe. When we returned from our afternoon game drive my friend noticed that her cash (R4000=EUR400) had been stolen from her purse which she had left in the room. We immediately notified reception and the security personel as well as managment on duty called the police. We spent the evening giving statements and were told, a thorough investigation would be underway. The next morning we were promised that the report had gone to head office who would contact us.

The lodge has no safe facilities in the rooms or behind reception. We did not call housekeeping or maintenance to the room, so we felt safe enough to leave our bags in the rooms. There were no signs of burglary. We were not advised to take our handbags onto the open plan landrover during the game drive.

We felt the situation was handled poorly and unprofessional. Despite complaint letters and queries to head office, noone called when promised and to date we are still waiting for an apology statement and a compensation for the inconvenience. In the meantime my friend has returned to Germany, Despite of having a wonderful holiday in Cape Town alltogether, Aquila has left a bad impression of Africa in her holiday memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Definetely not a safari but a really good experience. We got to see the big 5 and the kids were thrilled. We enjoyed the road trip from Cape Town, beautiful scenery. The place itself is very nice if not exceptional. I do agree that the lunch buffer was average but the breakfast was one of the best we had during our whole trip. Also the early morning drive was a great moment as we saw the sun rise on the veld. I definetely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room with a mezzanine for the kids and an outside shower. Very nice. the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We have stayed at Aquila on many occasions before. We love the beautiful scenery, the drive from Cape Town is wonderful and the peace and quiet of the place is very relaxing. No it is not the Kruger National Park and cannot be compared to it but it is a lovely way of seeing the big five and the park is situated in a beautiful part of South Africa. We stayed in one of the luxury chalets built against the rock cliff and it was wonderful. The bathroom is fantastic and the view from the "stoep" over the "veld" really special. The food was tasty; don't expect gourmet food but in general it was of a good standard. We relaxed and recharged our batteries and will be back again. The only critisicm is that the house keeping was not what it should be and small things like unemptied waste bins slightly detracted from an otherwise wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Choose on of the luxury chalets built into the rock cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aquila Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Private Game Reserve

Address: P.O. Box 1861, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 99 Specialty lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquila Private Game Reserve 4*
Also Known As:
Aquila Private Game Reserve Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquila Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aquila Private Game Reserve to your Saves list