We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average tea room, great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kirstenbosch Tea Room

The Kirstenbosch Tea Room
Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden | Gate 2, Rhodes Drive, Newlands, Cape Town Central 7700, South Africa
2721 -7974883
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Serving breakfasts, lunch and teas, inspired by the beautiful gardens and her passion for delicious food, Pamela Shippel-Granoth has created a rare culinary experience to complement the magnificent surroundings. Using only the best,freshest ingredients. All the food is prepared and breads and cakes baked on the premises under Pamela's carewful supervision.The comprehensive menu includes food for all tastes.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Average tea room, great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location is great. The Kirstenbosch gardens are wonderfull. The tea room is just average, nothing worth coming back to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    16
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, good menu, service could be buffed up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were welcomed by friendly staff but after being seated we had to wait about 10 minutes before our drinks order was taken. As we had waited so long for our order to be taken we ordered our food at the same time. Food was great and arrived pretty quickly although nobody came to check if all was ok and if you need any sauces you have to try and get someones attention to get this. Would just add to the overall nice experience if these little things were attended to.
Great location and nice variety of choice on menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquesPB, Manager at The Kirstenbosch Tea Room, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi Vicky B
Thank you for your review. Hearing about the bad service you recieved is as sad to me as it is rare at our restaurant. I am sorry that we slipped up in such a big way and hope to see you again for our usual great food and service.
Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“walk to breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Situated in the world famous gardens, which cannot fail to impress whatever the season with its variety of indigenous plants and marvellous mountain backdrop, this is a very popular spot for breakfast. Why not book your table, take a stroll for an hour and return for a good breakfast in the friendly atmosphere, preferably outside. This is the closest one can get to a game reserve restaurant feel in cape Town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Briskly efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

A friend and I have met there on several occasions. We know we can be sure of free parking, an enjoyable experience, varied menu (from little snacks to huge platefuls) and good, friendly service. Nothing high class or overpriced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Thai Veg Salad Supreme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stunning views, a thai veg salad that was the best I have ever had and I am now in heaven. If you order this salad make sure you are hungry because it is big.

The Tea Room is very popular - quite rightly, so be sure to get there early if you want a table outside.

The service is fast and friendly and the prices are probably just above average but the food is great and worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kirstenbosch Tea Room also viewed

Newlands, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Kirstenbosch Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kirstenbosch Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.