We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1890 House Sushi

1890 House Sushi
Lynton, Trill Road | Observatory, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 447 1450 ‎
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked for dinner at thos "unknown" randomly selected out of the Mr D's menu! We were very impressed. The sushi was fresh and well made, the Chinese tasty. We were somewhat disappointed by the attitude of our waiter, either he was having a bad day or he didnt appreciate our (very mild) sense of humour, or both! That said, he didn't put us off enough to stop us going back. My new favourite spot! Be warned though, finding parking can be very difficult.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not japanese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

1890 serves delicious fresh chinese sushi and other chinese and thai dishes. excellent service. fast and friendly. been eating here since the first week it opened. spend more time here than in my own kitchen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We absolutely love 1890 so much so that we drive 2 hours 1 way from McGregor to eat there. Sushi is exceptional and the fish is always fresh not to mention the staff who are great (Charlie to mention one)! No trip to Cape Town is complete without a stop at 1890 for sushi, it really is a gem and we highly recommended it to all!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good value, low on ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've been going to 1890 (the year of the building) for many years. The sushi is reliable but not adventurous and not authentically Japanese and the rice is sometimes too cold and hard. They also offer Chinese, Thai and other oriental dishes, but these are not their forte. However, the hot & sour soup is always delicious. it's a great value local with a devoted following.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific and inexpensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great little spot in Observatory neighborhood. The sushi conveyor belt is great for trying out new items. Everything is excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1890 House Sushi also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to 1890 House Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1890 House Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.