We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oxford House to your Saves list
Oxford House
4 Wessels Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed for just one night at this hotel and was very surprised. It is extremely good value for money in a lovely central location. The rooms are very spacious, clean and modern. It is self-catering and, although I didn't use the catering facilities, they looked perfectly adequate.

My only comment would be that the open shower looks modern, but does allow water to go everywhere, but this is a minor detail in an otherwise brilliant small hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    70
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
133
18
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Me, my husband and my parents stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in April 2012. Top location to just walk over the to the V&A waterfront to restaurants and shops. Just a 10 minute walk to V&A. The rooms are spacious, and feel completely new and clean. They all offer views of either the stadium or table mountain. Beds are very comfortable. Our room had a huge shower that could fit two. The owner, Ross, and the staff were all exceedingly friendly and helpful. Ross, helped us to book all the tours (safari, cape peninsula, cape winelands, cage diving). We had an enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend it.

Manoella R Teixeira - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

A nice sized room with a courtyard area, the room was pleasantly decorated and very clean. There was a small kitchenette area with microwave, kettle & fridge (door didn't close properly). There was plenty of storage space and a safe was available for use, very handy. The Primi Oxford is located within easy walking distance of the city centre and the V & A, there were plenty of cabs available whenever required but beware of being overcharged even on a metred cab (the metre is often turned off so the driver just seems to think of a fare!) The owner, Ross, and the staff were all exceedingly friendly and helpful, special thanks to Eunice for doing our laundry. Ross, helped us to rent a car but we do not recommend using this company (SF Car Rentals). Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have access to a courtyard which is a real sun trap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed recently for 5 nights at the Primi Oxford House before setting off for a road trip along the Garden Route. We were so impressed we booked a further 2 nights on our return.

The rooms are very spacious with huge beds and air-con. Bathrooms are clean and bright.

Security is excellent with a 24 hour concierge who is also very helpful.

The owner and all the staff always had a smile and made our stay very memorable

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent, the ground floor rooms share a secured patio area the 1st floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hostel is well situated near V&A waterfront (15 min walk) and the city center (16 min walk). The modern and comfy rooms are a joy to come "home" to. The owner is friendly and more then happy to help you in any way possible.
The only downside is that the rooms aren't well insulated but hey after a day in Cape Town and a nice bottle of wine you won't notice..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We truly were amazed at the good service we received at Primi Oxford House in Green Point, the room was macnificent And no expense was spared. Every detail was in place and the rooms are very large. There are just one negative, wifi proved a problem. They had full time security that checked on your safety and your car.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The rooms are very spacious, clean and modernly furnished. The kitchen is well equiped, so you can prepare your own meals. The location is excelent, although you have to walk about 700 m to the Waterfront. Be aware the parking is outside, although monitored by cameras. Overall, it's very good and we would recommend to friends if they're not willing to pay too much for a few days stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House

Address: 4 Wessels Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is just a note to say that we are located in Green Point and not in Blouberg as the map is showing. Situated at the foot of Table Mountain, within a stone's throw from the Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront which offers the visitor an abundance of unforgettable experiences. Indoor shopping and entertainment venues seamlessly merge with ocean vistas and mountain views and the fresh sea breeze and warm African sun add zest to a cosmopolitan, vibrant atmosphere. More than 80 restaurants bring ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Oxford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.