We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trending as one of hottest new restaurants in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dash Restaurant & Bar

Dash Restaurant & Bar
Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
+27 21 418 1466
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Californian, European, Contemporary, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dash is the restaurant and bar offering at the Queen Victoria Hotel, named after the Queen’s favourite pet. There is nothing cute about this space, however on the contrary it is the ultimate in sophisticated fine dining. The 36-seat Dash offers patrons an elegant yet relaxed experience with a touch of drama in the presentation of the well-crafted menu. The menu focuses on the unique flavours of each ingredient, which, except for the caviar, are all sourced locally.
New York City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Trending as one of hottest new restaurants in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Amazing food, very stylish and chic. It's a long relaxing dinner so don't expect to be in and out. This is definitely trending as one of the hottest restaurants in town and awesome alternative to the places you cannot get a last minute reservation at. It's extremely romantic and the presentation of food was superb. I am a big fan of fine dining, from NYC, and this would easily be a top restaurant in NYC. Staff and servers all very sweet.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the wonderful review on the food, service and overall experience at Dash Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    27
    17
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A 5*Gastronomic Journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

On Sunday night our party of six went to eat at Dash Restaurant. The restaurant was busy which created a lively atmosphere in contrast with my previous visits. Service was a bit strained but not unexceptionable.
As the specially prepared menu indicated, we were in for a real gastronomic journey. From the starter, Smoked Fish Rillette with pickled cucumber, to the grande finale Chock l'orange ( which included a perfectly baked Chocolate fondant ), with every dish our taste buds were tantalized by amazing combinations of ingredients and spices. The fish was followed by an exquisite constructed Crumbed Button Mushrooms with maple mayonnaise, with combination of jus droplets with exploding taste and an array of colour and textures. Part 1 of the main attractions was Chicken and Butternut served with yellow pepper, but all credit must however be given to the main attraction of the night which was Lamb Silver-loin with blush tomatoes and polenta. With each and every one of the dishes my guests at the table had the same responds on the amazing presentation and taste. This amazing experience once again confirmed my believe that the food and preparation and attention to detail is one of the best I ever had in any restaurant in the world. Congratulations to Chef Jamie and the team who made this a memorable experience once again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Fred D

Thanks for the stunning feedback on your recent visit to Dash Restaurant. I'm very glad to hear that Chef Jamie and the staff could "wow" your guests with the amazing presentation and taste of the various courses. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Staff & service fantastic, beautiful views from the open french doors & food worthy of a Michelan star & surprisingly reasonable

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Suzanne

Thanks for the wonderful feedback, it is much appreciated and I'll also pass the compliments on to the staff and chef. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We enjoyed Eating Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We ate here on two evenings for dinner. The first evening we had a great meal for 4 being seated at our table as soon as we arrived. Service was quick and efficient. The second time we ate here we were staying in the hotel and had a meal for 2 and had booked a table for 8.30 pm and had to wait half an hour to be seated although there were plenty of tables empty - in fact there were only 15 people sitting eating with us and another group of three waiting - so once we were seated there was still only 21 people eating so not sure what they would have done had the restaurant been full. We didn't finish eating until nearly 11 pm which was a bit on the late side. I think they were very short staffed in the dining room with only 4 serving that included the bar person, the manager of the restaurant and two others but as we were staying in the hotel it would have been nice to have been informed so we could make other arrangements if that is what we wanted to do.

The presentation of the food is very artistic and a photographers delight - very creative. the food was not always as hot as it could have been, but very tasty. The wine was excellent. The menus for food and wine are very descriptive - the best we came across.The staff were generally very attentive, very polite and welcoming.

The sorbet portion of three is too much, but they are all delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Good day

Thank you very much for the constructive feedback received. Your feedback allows us to monitor our service levels to guests and we aim to only deliver the highest level of service. We hope to welcome you back to Dash Restaurant on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The type of place where everyone is taking pictures of the food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Dash is based in the Queen Victoria Hotel a short distance away from the V&A Waterfront. The interior is modern but not much to write home about. What's really special about this place is the menu and the wine list (complete with beautiful and informative descriptions). If you're after big portions this is not for you - you'll only find elegant, well-structured plates of little bite-sized portions of delicious and carefully cooked food. Fine dining at its best.

Recommend going earlier rather then later, we booked a table for 8.30pm and the couple next to us were told that the best desserts were no longer available - luckily we'd just tucked in to the delicious chocolate fondant and coconut panna cotta and felt a little bit guilty that we'd probably just ordered the very last ones!

Excellent value on top of all that too! We paid around £45 for main courses and dessert along with water, beer, sparkling wine, dessert wine and fruity white wines.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Good day

Thank you very much for the lovely review on Dash Restaurant. I'm glad to hear that you managed to enjoy those decadent desserts and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dash Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Dash Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dash Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.