We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine, influential township tour company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uthando Private Tours

Uthando Private Tours
9 Princes Road | Harfield Village, Cape Town Central 7708 , South Africa
+27 21 683 8523
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uthando (Love) South Africa is an internationally award winning, unique and innovative Non Profit and Fair Trade certified company. The aim of Uthando is to raise funds and other forms of assistance for community development projects in South Africa. Uthando runs tours as daily scheduled tours AND tailormade private tours (for groups of any size). We take visitors into the townships (impoverished areas created during Apartheid on the outskirts of Cape Town) to visit incredible community development projects. We shine a light on the remarkable people and projects that are helping to build the new South Africa at grass roots level. On our tours we tell the remarkable story and history of South Africa and its brutal past, we discuss pertinent issues confronting our people, and provide an inspiring sense of hope through the efforts of dedicated grass roots leaders. Our tours are authentic, meaningful, non-invasive, respectful and very importantly beneficial to the communities being visited. The cost of our tours incorporate contributions to the projects that we visit and can thus also be considered philanthropic in nature.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Genuine, influential township tour company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

High recommended professional, knowledgeable township tour company. Fair Trade accredited Uthando support carefully selected viable development projects in Cape Town townships. They add valuable in-depth context to the visit with SA's history and present. A must do for visitors *and locals* alike, providing a fascinating, moving, accessible and contributory path into a world that can feel impenetrable or intimidating. You will be very warmly welcomed by the projects that your visit will financially support.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkenwoude
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is an experience you should have when travelling through South Africa
It makes you realise how rich we are and what little things can do
Uthando lets you see what projects can do for the townships
Xolani is a great guide with a lot of knowledge to share
Thanks for showing us the other side of life

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

It should be compulsory for all visitors to come on a tour with Uthando to the Townships.For my wife and I it was inspirational and taught us so much both historically and what the future may hold.We visited three projects each one opening our eyes to another world.The work being done by Uthando is fantastic and our guide Xolani was excellent along with Fred.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Thank you so much Xolani Maseko and Fred for a wonderful visit to the townships of the Cape Town area. Uthando is doing amazing work with non-profit, grassroots organizations, and it is an inspiration to visit with the kind, thoughtful and motivated individuals who are doing such important work in their own communities. It was an absolute privilege to be able to see this side of life in South Africa. Many blessings to you in your continuing work!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Community tour in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our tour with Uthando and James gave us real insight into the day to day lives of many who live in South Africa. It was a wonderful way to spend a day learning about the recent history of this magnificent country. On an otherwise very more touristy trip to this part of Africa, our day learning about the Uthando projects was so fulfilling. We especially liked seeing the Amy Biehl memorial and learning about her history there. Thank you to very knowledgeable James and Sugar. This tour makes a trip to Cape Town a very rich opportunity!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uthando Private Tours also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Uthando Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uthando Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.