We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Class Shosholoza Meyl Train

Premier Class Shosholoza Meyl Train
Adderly Street 8000, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27(0)87-8026674
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
Attraction details
Nelspruit
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

In December 2012 my family (2 teens) travelled on the Shoshaloza Meyl Premier class form Cape Town - Johannesburg as the ultamate end to a lovely holiday spent on a boat trip. What a disappointment. The cleanliness on the coaches really needs to be jacked up, it is simply just not acceptable. The food served in the dinning coach was very basic, as was "high tea", lunch and breakfast. We had no water to shower with in our communal shower, and the toilets had no hand towels and needed a long desired scrub! It is such a pitty, because the route is lovely and senic. We accepted the delays (brake problems) in the middle of the Karoo, in the middle of the day! (very hot and no air-con), but for clean and well maintained coaches there simly are no excuses. Definitely not value for money!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    11
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, SA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“For those with patience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although the booking facilities, website and waiting areas are not up to scratch, I enjoyed the trip. It was not as luxurious as the blue train, but at a fraction of the cost I feel that it was good value. In fact, I would still rate it as upper class and worth the money. The stations itself never felt truly safe, but all was well within the demarcated areas. I would do it again.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Falters to deceive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

How we would love to see this means of travel survive in South Africa, but at this rate it is doomed.
Potentially this should be a great experience, unfortunately for us from the moment we arrived at the lounge in Johannesburg until the time we returned to the same venue, it stuttered along on the route of mediocrity.
The cleanliness on the whole experience needs to be upgraded.
On our trip there were no air conditioners working in the lounge and diner ( the temperature was in the 40c's). We were 3 hours late arriving in Cape Town, and 4 hours late arriving in JHB.
The staff tried hard, but at best the food was average, ice in the bar was a major problem.
Overall it has such great potential... but falters to deceive!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walferdange, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Only those with patience of a rock”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

With a bit of effort this could be a really fantastic train route. In theory you leave Cape Town at 12:30, drive through pretty mountains for about 6 hours, have dinner, sleep through the boring Karoo, have breakfast, and get off at your destination.
In practice this never happens. Our train regularly stopped for no apparent reason, sometimes for hours. Once we stopped I looked out of the window. A waiter jumped out of the restaurant wagon with a parcel, casually walked the length of the train towards the engine, gave the parcel to the drivers, chatted to them for a few minutes, strolled back, and then the train went off again.
In the morning the train 'manager' (a conductor with a complex?) informed us that we've got a 6 hour delay. There was nothing that approximated an apology to go with this fact. (The delay was actually 7 hours).
The restaurant was a disaster. There are 12 tables for the whole train. We (me, wife, and 2 year old child) sat at one for over an hour in the morning before someone took our order - people came in after us and got served first. We finally ordered, a while later we got our food - and knives and forks to go with our cereals. Spoons arrived 10 minutes later.
On the plus side, the compartments are comfortable. As a family of 3 we got a 4 bed compartment (we didn't just get lucky, these are the rules, and the 4th bunk does not need to be paid for). For about 5 dollars extra we got crisp clean sheets and blankets, with which the attendant made very comfortable beds. Only downside of the compartment is that it cannot be locked from the outside (so take valuables with when going to restaurant). Each wagon has a shower and a toilet.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saldanha, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disasterous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After two trips, I will never ever put foot on that train again. My compartment was dirty, the food terrible,and the staff VERY unfriendly. During a lunch session, two compartments was robbed - including mine, and upon arrival I was told that I should use my own insurance, and the company will not do anything about it.
It is also very unreliable as it arrives late at most stops,and also late at your destination, that is if you get there!!
Definitely never again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Premier Class Shosholoza Meyl Train also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Premier Class Shosholoza Meyl Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Class Shosholoza Meyl Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.