We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best £30 I have spent in 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoked School of Surf Lessons & Surf Trips

Stoked School of Surf Lessons & Surf Trips
PO Box 32392 | Camps Bay 8004, Cape Town Central 7925, South Africa
+27 82 412 8781
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Stoked School of Surf is a 'mobile' surf school and surf tour operation. We offer lessons along the beautiful beaches of the spectacular Cape Peninsula and 4- and 7- day learn-to-surf trips along the pristine coastline of the Garden Route and the Southern Cape. We can also customize private surf trips for those in search of more advanced breaks. So whether you've never touched a surfboard before or have ridden some waves in your lifetime, be sure to experience the 'stoke' with Stoked School of Surf.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best £30 I have spent in 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

In Cape Town for work last week I decided I wanted to try surfing. From the outset this was made exceptionally easy. Despite only enquiring about a lesson on Thursday the booking process was incredible easy with Michelle answering any queries I had promptly.

The lesson was great with fantastic equipment to learn on. Michelle is not only enthusiastic but knowledgeable and the whole lesson was excellent. Less than an hour after starting I was able to stand, albeit for short periods. Totally exceeded my expectations and everything was very professional

Will definitely come back next time I'm in Cape Town.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I am so STOKED about Stoked School of Surf! The instructors, Michelle and Sarah Jane are just so great and they get you on the board in no time. It is a great experience and everything about it is just wonderful. As they would say in Cape Town: HECTIC DUDE! So people, don't hesitate and take your surf lessons at Stoked! They pick you up at where you are staying and take you to the best waves. It is so much fun. Just do it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great way to truly experience Cape Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was such a highlight of my Cape Town trip - being active, learning a new sport, and having fun, all with the beautiful Cape backdrop - it was a day I will never forget. They were well-organised, easy to book, and had great equipment which made the whole experience really easy for me. It was awesome to feel part of this activity, instead of just being a tourist! The instruction was really clear and simple, and made surfing seem a lot more possible than ever before.
I would recommend this to anyone coming to Cape Town - do not miss out!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jameln
1 review
“Just awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I went on a 3 day surf trip which was definitely one of the most amazing and exciting things I experienced during my stay in Cape Town. Michelle is not only a very professional surf coach, but also an experienced trip organizer who made us all feel comfortable and in the best hands for three days. I enjoyed every single minute in the water and my surfing improved incredibly. Michelle's tips during the lessons were very helpful. The whole trip was so well organized and accompanied by several activities outside the water like wine tasting, a trip to Cape Agulhas and nive evenings at our great accomodation just next to the beach. This trip is highly recommendable!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Easy to contact and meet at the beach. Quick and to-the-point intro so we could quickly try it ourselves. Good tips and very fun experience. Value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoked School of Surf Lessons & Surf Trips also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Stoked School of Surf Lessons & Surf Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoked School of Surf Lessons & Surf Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.