We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Mexican Food Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Burro

El Burro
81 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021 4332364
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“BEST Mexican Food Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We finally decided on this place after vetting MANY places in the area and we did not regret our decision. A gentleman on the street who seemed to be from the area recommended it. The place was beautiful, the service was great and the food was sensational. It's not tex mex. In fact, it's probably atypical of anything you've had but the items are so interesting and so well prepared. We live in the States and I've had a lot of Mexican food but this was, by far, some of the BEST Mexican I've ever had. Check out the menu and make time for it if you're in Cape Town. Who knew you could find great Mexican food in CPT or South Africa!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    60
    43
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
c, Tamil Nadu, Indiahennai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not exactly authentic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

El Burro is an "authentic" Mexican cafe near the waterfront in Cape Town. Being from Texas, we were excited to see a Mexican cafe as we had been in South Africa for almost 3 months at that point. The location is good, upstairs where you can sit on the balcony and look out over the street. The menu had some typical mexican dishes and we ordered some enchiladas, fajitas, a salad and carne asada. The food was not bad but very mild and bland. It is the only mexican cafe that I have ever eaten at where you do not get tortilla chips or tortillias with your meal. They were available but at an extra charge as would be the salsa if you wanted to dip the chips. Tortillias cost the equivelent of 50 cents apice if you wanted them to go with your fajitas. This by itself was a major turn off and the fact that
everything was so bland made this place a disapointment for someone who enjoys good mesican food. I don't think the place would survive if a real mexican cafe were to open up nearby.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“¡Arriba! ¡Epa! ¡Epa! ¡Epa! Yeehaw!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

El Burro offers so much more than just mexican cuisine. The ambient setting, richly decorated with attentive and extremely accommodating and delightfully dressed staff (as they arranged for our rather large table of 18 on a Thursday evening) made for a festive farewell.

The drinks that I can recommend are of course the usual mexican margarita's, however I was thoroughly refreshed by the Paloma - a grapefruit cocktail.

Starters that deserve notable mention are the smoked chilli poppers ("chiles relenos") for their unusual flavour, as well as their rendition of "fish tartare" ("cerviche") offering finely diced line fish in a moreish tart flavour.

For mains, the table sampled an array of dishes such as chicken enchiladas, steak ("carne asada"), however I believe to the agreement of my corner of the table that the taco with roast vegetables being the most desirable taste sensation.I have yet to sample the goat but I believe that too is an absolute must try. My palate is mores suited to salt and savoury, however friends relished the oozy dark chocolate fondant.

El Burro offers and array of choice with varying prices allowing you to decide on what you want to spend. The portions are great and the service commendable. I would definitely recommend as a jolly good evening out with friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is legit Mex, great produce, great cocktail selection, super service with funkadelic waitstaff and doesn't cost the eart

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Maybe only for huge Mexican fans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went here recently on a random evening looking for anything that sounded alright. The place itself is nice enough and the service alright, but the food was terrible for us. We accept we might have ordered badly, but we didn't enjoy it, the refried bean was a nasty looking mush and the rest of the plates were not tasty. We had a chicken plate and a beef plate and neither meat was nice. It has made our minds up that we're not Mexican fans (which is probably the real issue here).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Burro also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to El Burro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Burro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.