We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pasta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Leone Mastrantonio

Il Leone Mastrantonio
22 Cobern Street | (corner of Prestwich), Cape Town Central, South Africa
27 21 421 0071
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: During our recent visit to Cape Town, we ate at this restaurant on the strong recommendation from the owner of our hotel. He was right! Very good good, BYOB nad great staff and a very friendly efficnet waitress. great food...highly recommended
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food at this restaurant is always fantastic. The pastas are exceptional. The service is fantastic and it is always a treat to go to this restaurant

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    85
    25
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

atmosphere and nice service - all ways top (have been 4-5 times last 3 years) - food good even if more italian style than italian - and generous - wine selection good to.
will be back

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“An uplift to our evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The grey one and I had booked a restaurant in the Waaterkant which seemed to do really good home-cooked food. On the night we arrived, it was empty bar one couple. The waiter informed us that a couple of things were off the menu as they had been very busy. Since most of what we had come to eat was off, we voted with out feet. A random man in the street directed us to il Leone - a buzzing little Italian place just a turning off the main road - you would have to know it was there. It was certainly our salvation. We had a delicious meal there. I had excellent tiger prawns followed by a very good spaghetti with prawns, wilted rocket, and pine kernels. The grey one had pasta fagioli to start followed by a generous veal chop with good vegetables. The owner is a great guy who really keeps his eye on the game and was constantly checking his tables. Our waiter, Yoni, was just the most lovely guy who looked after us superbly. The atmosphere was really lively if a little noisy but what started out as a disappointment ended up as an advantage since we have now found a new restaurant which we like and would certainly recommend and will return to. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have heard quite a bit about Il Leone and wanted to try it out.
The place looks really nice, the service was excellent, the menu great and the wine list very good.
My wife ordered the Saltimbucca: a very small piece of veal which together with the parma ham was very salty. The veggies were nice.
I ordered the penne with prawns in tomato sauce. The prawns were cooked very well, the penne was al dente, but there was waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much penne for the little amount of sauce. While I understand that the pasta should soak up some of the sauce, I landed up with a bowl full of semi sauced pasta and 6 prawns. I was stuffed full after eating 1/2 the food. Perhaps they should cut down on the amount of pasta and give more sauce?
The tiramasu for desert was ok, it lacked a bit of booze.
All in all, for the price it was ok, but doesn't really inspire a second visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Some dishes good, others not!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The restaurant upstairs was very noisy and the service slow. Our first course of prawn pasta in a cream sauce was delicious as was the Eggplant parmingana. My husband ordered a broccoli pasta with anchovies...we couldn't see any anchovies or taste them as the pasta was "killed" with garlic and the broccoli was soft and mushy. Not good at all. We couldn't hear what our waitress said and had to ask twice about the specials.
Too many really good restaurants in Cape Town to give this one another try!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Leone Mastrantonio also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Il Leone Mastrantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Leone Mastrantonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.