We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Table Mountain National Park

Table Mountain National Park
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
santa barbara, california
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Table Mountain has to be one of the most dramatic mountains in the world!
The park lands surrounding it are beautiful...with gorgeous forested hills on some lower slopes...and endless vistas of sky, sea and Cape Town....incredible!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    146
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you ever visit the cape this is one of the must see attractions as part of a day spent traveling the peninsula.

Don't take too much faith at the direction off the major city pointers (New York and Sydney are bizarrely facing the same directions)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvaing, Hainaut, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's a mythic short hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The path that we chose is about a 2-hour hike, almost like climbing stairs for 2 hours, so some level of fitness is recommended! The views are varied, and of course absolutely spectacular from the top of Table Mountain. Be prepared for wind at the top, and clouds can come in at any time too, and take plenty of water. This is one of the highlights of a visit to Cape Town!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Not to be missed and yes there are baboons wandering around. Make sure you do not open your windows or have doors unlocked as they do walk up and down and try the locks. Views are stunning and not to be missed. Only negative is they can do so much more when it comes to having a cafe/restaurant there. Missed opportunistic there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking. Amazing Hike with a bad suprise at the end.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

In January 2010 we decided to take a trail that would take us to the mountaintop. We parked by the roadside and started climbing. It took about 2h30min to complete the climb. The trail is clean and has some very difficult passages that require good physical conditioning. The view from up there is fantastic and the feeling of having completed the hike up is remarkable. Coming down is faster. We took 1h20min to get down on the road where we had parked our car. That was when we had a nasty surprise. The car's side window was broken and our GPS that was in the glove compartment had been stolen. They also stole the CD player and a t-shirt that was in the backseat. The same day we went to the police and registered a case. But never recovered the stolen goods. Anyway, the hike up is wonderful. It's worth taking the trail. But be careful when choosing where to park.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Table Mountain National Park also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Table Mountain National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table Mountain National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Table Mountain National Park to your Saves list