We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Queen Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Queen Victoria Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at the Queen Victoria for three nights. And despite other reviewers complaints, I think some people are just hypercritical and cranky, this was a wonderful hotel. The staff members were friendly, welcoming and attentive. Our room was very nice with a view of Table Mountain. It is a short walk from the hotel to the V&A Waterfront. The hotel organized a Cape Penisula Tour for us and also our airport transfers. Everything was handled well.

Our room rate included the plentiful buffet and ordering a hot breakfast from the menu. The food was well prepared. We did not eat at Dash for any other meals, but it has a good reputation and was busy every night we were there.

We loved the yummy bakery treats left every night with the turn down service. Fabulous hotel, perfect location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Good day semsensei,

Thank you for your kind words on our lovely hotel and staff. My team and I are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to also experience all that Cape Town has to offer. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    62
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
39
231
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very nicely appointed, well done hotel. The pool area was great. Great quiet location in the bustling V&A area. Service was slow and uninspired for the restaurant and the concierge services. Regularly took 10+ minutes to get coffee in the AM, and the front desk staff was frequently slow and ineffective at helping with reservations, calling taxis, etc. They should strengthen their concierge efforts.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Good day juco0501,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your constructive review. Your review has been given absolute priority in terms of remedial action. I am glad that you enjoyed the great pool area at Dock House and we hope to welcome you back to the Queen Victoria Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Excellent location just a few steps from the Victoria and Albert Waterfront. Ask for a room in upper floors with balcony. Small boutique hotel with very stylish rooms, super-comfortable beds. Most of all, very friendly and helpful staff, great attitude to make you feel welcome. Great bar and excellent breakfast. We truly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Ocean side was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Good day Scubapanda,

I am glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your great feedback on our facilities and staff. We hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We chose the Queen Victoria after a high recommendation from a friend. First impressions. Reception staff were very helpful. Room is average and over priced. We decided to stay in reasonably priced hotels during our visit to SA and save our money for the best for last - disappointing. Breakfast took 10 minutes for them to prepare a table, which was not prepared I had to steal silverware from another table, I asked 3 times for milk and napkins which eventually arrived after 20 mins. Stole butter and Jam from another table. Finally our order was taken but I had lost my appetite.
Room is Very average for a hotel of this rating, there are far more luxurious and exciting hotels down the road in Camos Bay.
Location is great for the V and A.
We have another night here so looking for improvements! We will not recommend and will not come again. Will try one of the sister hotels for breakfast tomorrow. Although our waiter was very personable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Good day Delphine J,

It was very nice to meet you both the other morning. Thank you once again for the constructive feedback regarding your breakfast service. I can assure you that all your comments have received priority attention and remedial action. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience at Dock House the following morning and I trust you had a safe journey home.

Best regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very nice , comfortable and top notch place to stay, service is great, rooms are amazing , decor is unique and upto date, location is perfect for the water front area . Swimming pool in the dock house is lovely on a hot day but needs to be heated, it's very cold water, the dock house is also an alternative place to have breakfast which is a bonus. Would go back for sure. Don't hesitate on this hotel if available then book it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Good day Jaff66,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Queen Victoria Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Everything about this hotel is 5 star. We had a beautiful corner suite on the first floor, which was tastefully furnished and decorated. Beautiful toiletries by Charlotte Rhys - wonderful. The staff were extremely helpful, professional and friendly. We dined in the hotel and food and wines were superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Good day 150lizh,

Thank you for your kind words on our lovely hotel. My team and I are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to also experience the amazing food that our team of young and dynamic chefs at Dash Restauarant put together.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very nice and comfortable smaller, personalized, modern hotel (37 rooms). Spacious suites at appr 55 m2 with nice decor and ample bathroom. Good beds. Very attentive staff. Good BF buffet. Excellent location within V&A Waterfront, however on a hill - therefore more secluded but with good views - even so only 3-5 min walk to the Mall as well as bars and restaurants of V&A. Would return.

Room Tip: Ask for view of table mountain side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Good day travelpro_d,

Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback on the Queen Victoria Hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Mike Vroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.