We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base near the Waterfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Queen Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Queen Victoria Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Excellent base near the Waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Everything was great about this hotel. Location, service, value for money. Impressive breakfast spread. Excellent free wifi. Free parking. Highly recommended. Our room had a good view over the waterfront.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the lovely review on the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location to be so convenient and the facilities to be of a good standard. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    71
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
44
260
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This Hotel is excellent. The location is superb for the Waterfront. The rooms are massive. The staff are humble, friendly, knowledgeable and very professional.
We arrived at Cape Town airport at 7 am after an 11 hour flight, we had asked the Hotel in advance if we would be able to check in at 9 am - they said they would try their best. When we arrived they had organised it and the rooms were ready. Quite frankly any hotel in peak season that can do this, is worth its weight in gold.
Later in the day we asked for a private taxi to ferry us from the Hotel to Camps Bay, back to a restaurant and then back to the Hotel and within thirty minutes they had arranged everything at a fixed price - perfect.
If breakfast wasn't perfect then frankly we are demanding far too much. Everything I ate and drunk was fresh, top quality and exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Shaun

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this lovely review in respect of your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel Your complementary remarks are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Really good location, hotel very stylish and staff were very friendly and helpful. Room large with large shower and bath. facilities excellent. my only fault with the hotel would be the breakfast service which was slow and they forgot orders and things like the glasses and plates weren't topped up sufficiently.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the wonderful review on your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. Thanks also for pointing out the service at breakfast - we'll address this with the staff.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Queen Victoria is one of the most comfortable hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms are large, beautiful, and elegant. The bed is so comfortable we slept very well, even after 20 hours of travel from New York! The bathrooms are huge, with a soaking tub and stand alone shower, and great towels. The location is perfect for walking to dinner on the waterfront, but just far enough from the action to be quiet and calm. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel's understated elegance is topped only by the friendly and helpful staff. A perfect place to start our trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the stunning review! I'm very happy to hear that Queen Victoria Hotel was a good start to your holiday and that we could set the tone of what was to come in South Africa. I will also pass the complimentary remarks on to the staff at the QV.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We only stayed here one night, but found the hotel delightful, very stylish, comfortable, clean, staff helpful and pleasant. The room we had was on the second floor on the corner with views of Table Mountain and the Waterfront. A lovely quiet spot. The room was large with an open plan bathroom area with a very large shower enclosure and separate toilet. The bed very comfortable, wonderful quality linens, great pillows. Lots of wardrobe and drawer space. Excellent location across to the Waterfront. Pool in sister hotel a short walk down the road. Loungers wonderfully comfortable - towels supplied and pool bar. A great boutique style hotel - would come again. We ate in the restaurant Dash a couple of times - will do another review on this.
Breakfast excellent with lots of variety to choose from and ope from 6.30 am to 11 am.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor and away from the Waterfront road which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Good day

I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel, thank you very much for submitting a review. I'm glad that you've managed to make use of the various facilities within our Waterfront portfolio such as the pool at Dock House. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

the location of the hotel is really good as it is across from the waterfront. its a bit of a weird set up as the hotel and its two sister hotels are all together. so the gym is in one building ans the pool in another. it wasnt a big deal. the actual hotel- very minimalistic. bright white when you enter. i could appreciate the design of the hotel, but it just felt very cold to me. we had two rooms- one was significantly larger than the other (the one with two twin beds-that my kids were in). our king bed room was CRAMPED!! i dont think the rooms were well appointed. barely enough storage for clothes, instead of drawer space there was mirrored bar space with nothing in them. the worst lighting ever. ladies, make sure you put makeup on in the daylight because there is not enough light in the room to do it past dusk. i dont even think there was a magnifying mirror. the staff- cold, indifferent, and not particularly helpful. the pool staff were very nice. but the desk staff were unimpressive. all in all, great location and completely unimpressive in every other way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Good day

Thank you very much for the constructive feedback received as this allows me to monitor the service levels to our guests.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

What a fantastic hotel - stunning service, friendly and helpful staff - we would certainly return. Great location, stylish hotel and lovely people. Thank you to Neil, Andy, Ollie and all the team at the Queen Victoria. Matt Kent

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Matt

I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.