We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Queen Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed 4 days last month in this world class city. Our travel agent booked
us into the Queen Victoria Hotel and we found it to be ideal. The location is
excellent...just a few minutes walk to the waterfront...and we could see both the
waterfront and table mountain from our balcony. The room was very spacious
and well furnished. The public areas are quite nice and the hotel has an excellent
restaurant and bar where we enjoyed food and drink on several occasions. The
breakfast is especially grand. I saved the staff comments for last. Kudos to Bobby
the manager, to Gershon the concierge, to Phinde the wonderful and efficient
waitress and to Giya, the bartender. A wonderful team who contributed to making
our stay memorable. Certainly hope to return to Cape Town and the Queen Victoria
Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Good day

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review on the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff contributed to making your stay a special one. I will pass your complimentary remarks on to Bobby, Gershon, Phinde and Giya - we pride ourselves on delivering the highest standard of service, so it is great to receive such positive feedback!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    49
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
177
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When we were picked up at the airport we were informed that we had been upgraded from our V&A booking. The cynic in me said yeah right just a scam because we got a cheap rate on booking.com. Boy was I wrong. To be fair I have not stayed at the V&A, but their is no way this place is not a huge upgrade. From the warm greeting by the doorman, to the attentive service during check-in, the experience following 24hrs of travel was wonderful. We are in 1212 ( don't leave until tomorrow) which has an ok view of the mountain ( or at least the clouds covering it). But let's face it, who wants to spend time indoors looking out, when you are a short stroll to the centre of it all.
On our second day we headed out on a shark tour, when we returned to our room, we had a note saying we had reservations at Gold Resturant. Now this was on our list of things to do, but I will swear up and down that I did not pass that on to the hotel. I confronted Bobby about this and he claims I must have mentioned it on check-in. The fact that they remembered (and acted upon) something I have no recollection of speaks volumes to the attention to detail by this hotel staff ( BTW, highly recommend a night at Gold).
Every morning we were greeted by our friends in the dining room, and after a few days I believe you will also refer to the dining room staff as friends, they are just that nice, where we were treated to a magnificent breakfast, that became on of the highlights of the day.
Tonight we stayed in and had dinner at Dash. what a wonderful meal! If I could figure out how to post pictures to this site I would because words cannot describe how visually stunning the meal was. And it tasted better than it looked! For the two of us to have a meal of similar quality back in Canada, we would easily spend 3 times the $90 Cdn this meal cost.
We head out tomorrow, but are booked into the V&A on the 29th before our flight home. Here's hoping for another upgrade

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Good day

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us. I'm very glad to hear that you had such an amazing time and I will certainly pass the complimentary remarks on to Bobby and the staff at Queen Victoria Hotel and Dash Restaurant.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay at the Queen Victoria and I really enjoyed my stay.
My room was in the ground floor, big, quiet, but not great view, but we still enjoyed the serenity of the hotel.
I actually requested for a room in higher level, the front desk said they will look into it, but never came back to me, having said this, the room was still very comfortable.
The hotel is small and the decor is modern and fresh, I liked it. Also the breakfast was very nice and the guys working at the restaurant were extremely nice. I thought it was great having breakfast served until 11 and there is champagne for those who want a champagne breakfast/brunch!
I agree with some of the comments about the Front Desk not being very friendly but not a major complain though.
All in all, I definitely recommend this hotel as it is centrally located, with big rooms and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Good day

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. This allows me the opportunity to monitor our service levels to guests. Thanks for the compliments as well as pointing out the areas for improvements.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a total of 5 nights bookending a 2 week trip to Africa in August 2012. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helped book excursions. The location of the hotel is excellent - right in the middle of the V&A Waterfront, with easy access to restaurants, nightlife, etc., as well as the red double decker bus that made for easy and cheap transportation all around town. Great views from the room. The hotel is small enough that the staff knows you by name, even on a short stay.
Breakfast was excellent - choice of hot items off the menu plus a full continental selection. Tea was especially noteworthy.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing the waterfront for the best views.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Sarah

We sincerely appreciate your complimentary remarks on your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. I'm very glad to hear that we could assist in ending your tour of Africa on a high note! We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were very happy with QV. The rooms and sheets were clean. Staff were courteous and the breakfast spread was good. The location was excellent, a few minutes walk to the waterfront. We feel safe and secure. Fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on the Queen Victoria Hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here in March and was overall happy with the experience. The hotel is cute - small and intimate and great if you don't like big crowds and chaos. It is right on the V&A but you have to go up some steps so slightly removed from the hustle and bustle. I liked the decor as it feels like a comfortable / cozy modern.
Only negative is that the staff at the reception weren't particularly friendly and also our room was on the ground floor with an average view. I had emailed the hotel in advance to ask for a good room as this was supposed to be a surprise weekend for my partner so I was disappointed with what they gave us.
The breakfast was good and the staff in the restaurant was lovely.
i would recommend it as it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Jessica

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel earlier this year. I’m glad to hear that you found the location to be convenient and liked the décor of the hotel.

We strive to deliver only the highest standard of service to our guests so it saddens me to hear that you did not find the reception staff to be particularly friendly. Baring the view, the standard of accommodation and the ground floor is the same as on the other two floors and I apologize that your request for a good room was not allocated on a higher floor.

Thank you for your feedback as it provides me with the opportunity to continually monitor our service levels.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director – Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is right where you need to be, on the waterfront where it all happens. There is a very large shopping mall and also a lot of entertainment. The staff at the hotel are very friendly nothing is too much trouble. The hotel very clean and meals are amazing. Even though the hotel is a little more expensive than others a little further away it is well worth paying the extra.

Room Tip: Great locality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Annie

Thank you for having taken the time to write this lovely review on the Queen Victoria Hotel. I will pass your compliments on to the staff and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.