We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International quality not often found in Cape Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Garden Sushi

Kyoto Garden Sushi
11 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: http://maps.google.co.za/maps/place?hl=en&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=kyoto+garden+sushi+cape+town&fb=1&gl=za&hq=kyoto+garden+sushi&hnear=Cape+Town&cid=108047996560887617
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“International quality not often found in Cape Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Wandering around Cape Town on a Saturday evening, and specifically looking for sushi, we happened upon Kyoto Garden, which I had heard about in passing. The restaurant was clean and elegant, but after glancing at the menu I realized this wasn't your ordinary sushi joint. The prices were double what we usually pay for sushi, and the cocktails and other drinks the same. That said, the menu was much more creative and expansive than the usual salmon or tuna that we are used to, there was a variety of delicious sounding delicacies, but again the prices were a little more than we might have liked. We ordered the chefs platter, and was pleasantly surprised to receive a unique tasting dish of delights that I have never tasted before. The main was excellent; fresh and tasty, and we ordered another dish to share which was equally good.

I would certainly return here, but perhaps only on a special occasion. There are an abundance of sushi joints in Cape Town; but this is certainly a cut above! Well worth trying!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    5
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just nice Japanese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Fair price/quality. Good sashimi. Nice chef.

The chef is the asset in this restaurant. The experience he has reflects on the food and the ambiance.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best of Cape Town Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The food and decor is straight out of Japan; authentic Japanese cuisine made by a chef from Tokyo. I haven't had this level of quality in South Africa. Easily my favorite on Cape Town. Trust the chef's recommendations!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service, Great Tempura!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I walked to Kyoto Garden, from our guesthouse, for a nice light sushi dinner. We were very happy with the attentive and friendly service. We ate our fill of soup, sashimi, and wine but we couldn't resist trying the tempura. We were not disappointed. We were served a mix of tempura prawns and veggies and it was unlike any tempura we have had, it is very light and flavourful; not heavy like a lot of tempura batters. We were then pleasantly surprised to receive a complimentary drink to finish off our night, a very classy and nice touch that will help us remember our time at Kyoto Garden. It was one of our more expensive meals in Cape Town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Japan around the corner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

What an experience! We are planning a trip to Japan next year and are trying out the restaurants in Cape Town as part of out preparations. Well, I must confess! If the food in Japan is anything like the dinner we had last night, I cannot wait to go! The evening began with an interesting selection of sake based cocktails. We started with a platter of Chef's Creation of shasimi and rolls supplemented with North Northwest rolls which were excellent. The mains were fabulous with three methods of preparation on the table: the steamed fish were very delicate with a tasty rice basis, the seared tuna was done perfectly and my lemon cured Norwegian salmon with king crab and scallop was fabulous!
The service was good and we had a great dinner. I can recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Garden Sushi also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Kyoto Garden Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Garden Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.