We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely horrid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Sea Palace
Shop 261 | Upper Level, Victoria Wharf, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely horrid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

How this restaurant is still surviving is beyond me, if you want to know how bad Chinese food taste like then this is one place you cannot miss. The boss of the restaurant might have a jacket with many buttons but that surely does not help in making the food better at this Chinese restaurant. Time to wake up SEA Palace, it's SEA Hell right now.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    1
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place needs to get it act together....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Simply did not live up to expectation! My wife and I went out for dinner to have a Chinese experience in town... and what we experienced was a shame. The atmosphere was terrible! Wall papered walls pealing off (very distasteful). Toilets are dirty...Like those public toilets at the train station. The Chicken dish had a peace of fish meat in it. We tried to order some items on the menu only to be told that they are not available, like hot chocolate of juice! The prices are definitely not worth the experience...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay away !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Fried wontons were awful....almost burnt. The soy sauce was the saltiest we've ever tasted. Thai beef red curry was more like fatty beef stew ...... brown and watery. We had one spoonful of curry and left the rest for the manager to eat, who weren't interested in our complaints. Left the place within half hour of getting there, but still had to pay full price for everything.
The worst restaurant I've been to in Cape Town. DONT GO THERE !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience, Food & Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the worst experience that I have had of a chinese restaurant in Cape Town. The food was overpriced and the portions very small. The per person al la carte menu is deceptive as it doen't actually include everything on the menu. The atmosphere was horrible, very clinical and extremely noisy which made for an altogether unpleasant. If you are not a chinese tourist on the bus tours the staff actually cannot be bothered with you. The irony for them was that I was with a tour guide who was trying them out. SERIOUSLY DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY, THERE ARE MUCH NICER MORE AUTHENTIC CHINESE RESTAURANTS IN SEA POINT

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“COCKROACHES IN MY FOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant should be closed down. The service was awful but the food had a baby cockroach in it.
Disgusted from London.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sea Palace also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.