We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too long and too expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Heart of Cape Town Museum

The Heart of Cape Town Museum
Groote Schuur Hospital, Main Road, Cape Town Central 7925, South Africa
++27 21 404 1967
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$48*
and up
Cape Town City Pass including Two Oceans Aquarium and District Six Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience the drama of the world’s first human heart transplant performed by Prof. Chris Barnard in 1967 in the fully restored operating theatres where the surgery took place. The fascinating and very emotional stories of the donor, recipient and medical team involved are told on a fully guided, 2 hour tour with the help of life sized silicone models and replicas of important scenes. Certainly an experience not to be missed!
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too long and too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

An ode to Christiaan Barnard and not a very interesting one, at that. The two hour tour was an hour too long and for R200, a R100 too much.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    31
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camps Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“you will be speachless....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

if you are in the situation that someone around you had a transplant - or if yourself had a transplant - or if you just interested in medical history - this is the place to go. The private Person who set up this place to what it is now did such an amazing Job with all the research and getting the original parts for his demonstration rooms I was speachless. I just think everbody should about this entire Story and see how small we are in our days - going back all this year when the frist transplant happened and seeing all the items used for the op's wow wow wow - well done to the Museum - the Guides where all part of the Team in these days and speak out of experiance.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour - Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As a teenager growing up in the 1960's I remember quite well all of the events that led up to this first heart transplant surgery performed by Professor Barnard. As an aspiring doctor i recall following all of the historical events leading to this first successful heart transplant in history. Taking this tour brought back for me numerous memories of the events that led up to this heart transplantation procedure. The history is recreated very accurately. The Madame Touseaud style manikins representing the various important characters bring back to life those very important people. .The tour guide we had was super knowledgeable I took over 1000 digital photos in this place. It is a must see. A trip to Cape Town should include a visit to this fascinating place. I look forward to going back and seeing the place once again during my next visit to Cape Town. Thank you heart of CT Museum for accurately recreating history. All the best always. Dr. S.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I am a pediatrics resident doctor from Canada. I found the museum tour to be scintillating for people of all backgrounds, both medical and non-medical. I loved the medical aspects (obviously), but was particularly fascinated by how they related to the era. I also loved hearing about the stories behind the different players who contributed to the world's first human heart transplantation.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Visiting History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I remember as a child when Chris Bernaard completed the first heart transplant. To see this museum was revisiting a part of my child that influenced me greatly. We had a guide take us through who was very informative. Definitely a must see. Total time was about 1 1/2 hours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Heart of Cape Town Museum also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Heart of Cape Town Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heart of Cape Town Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.