We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heart of Cape Town Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heart of Cape Town Museum

The Heart of Cape Town Museum
Groote Schuur Hospital, Main Road, Cape Town Central 7925, South Africa
++27 21 404 1967
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience the drama of the world’s first human heart transplant performed by Prof. Chris Barnard in 1967 in the fully restored operating theatres where the surgery took place. The fascinating and very emotional stories of the donor, recipient and medical team involved are told on a fully guided, 2 hour tour with the help of life sized silicone models and replicas of important scenes. Certainly an experience not to be missed!
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“The Heart of Cape Town Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very interesting part of Cape Town's history. It gives some interesting insights in to how medicine was practiced and how it has changed. The welcome video was well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    31
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice museum, poor guiding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The museum itself was very nice and educational. I would have preferred however, to walk around myself, rather than take part in the two hour guided tour. The guide focused on too many details about the surgeon´s family, the donor´s hobbies etc, that I was not really interested in.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is more than two months since we visited this museum and I still find myself thinking of it often. To enter through what was the emergency entrance and stand in the actual operating theatres where it all happened (and set up as they were on the day) is an unforgettable experience, as is seeing the preserved recipient and in some cases donor hearts. The staff are knowledgable and passionate about the stories and bring it all to life while being immensely respectful of the sensitivities involved. I learnt so much.

They couldn't have been more helpful, arranging transfers from my hotel and collecting my husband from the university (and staying open a bit later for us so we could see it all - and there is a lot).

One of the best museums I've seen and the highlight of our visit to Cape Town. Don't miss it..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Heart Transplant in History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

For those who remember the shock and excitement of the world's first heart transplant - and even for those who do not - this is good history. You do not need a medical background to understand and appreciate the guided tour at Groote Schuur Hospital. It's extremely informative. Pickup and return to your hotel is free for those who purchased a Hop-Off Hop-On ticket (else 50 rand). If you schedule this 2-hr tour right before you need to leave for the airport, they will even store your luggage during the tour and drive you to the airport free - more than saving the cost (200 rand) of the tour itself.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitiawan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Impressive museum on world's first heart transplant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Glad to visit this Heart museum on the historic heart transplant performed by the eminent pioneer Dr. Christian Barnard in 1967. He used the accident victim, Denise's heart to transplant into the recipient, Louis Wallansky. The exhibits were very detailed, informative and well laid out. It is certainly worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Heart of Cape Town Museum also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Heart of Cape Town Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heart of Cape Town Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.