We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helicopter ride to remember...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extreme Scene Day Trips

Extreme Scene Day Trips
1 Vredenburg Lane, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 79 666 9789
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are your Cape Town One Stop Adventure Shop. Contact us for all your outdoor adventure needs and rest assured of an experience of a lifetime. Shark cage diving, tandem skydiving, tandem paragliding, quad biking, sand boarding, helicopter flights, safaris or even an awesome abseil from Table Mountain. We will even give good local advice and book your accommodation. Let us make your experience in Cape Town an enjoyable one and contact us as soon as you can.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Llandyrnog, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Helicopter ride to remember...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ending our trip with a helicopter ride was organised By Gavin left everyone on a huge high. As we had never experienced a helicopter ride & wanted to arrange it for our daughter's 13th birthday, we started arranging the trip with Gavin some months before we travelled. All was set, except for the Cape Town weather, which made flying impossible. Gavin worked with us over 3-4 days so that we didn't miss the trip & was completely understanding that we chose to cancel out sunset cruise as we had the flights to catch & felt we'd experienced enough of the sea with the trip to Robben Island & also shark cage diving. Gavin was very accommodating moving our deposit across towards the helicopter, he also trusted us to settle up when we got home as he wasn't there on Sunday. We would strongly recommend him & really appreciated his efforts to ensure we had the memorable experience we sought

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExtremeScene, Owner at Extreme Scene Day Trips, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Patrick thanks for the amazing review. Your patience in the build up to finally getting you and the family on a scenic helicopter flight was very much appreciated. It always helps when our clients have a good understanding on how certain weather conditions can effect activities we offer. Seeing Cape Town by air is a fantastic experience and we are glad that we have been able to assist in making your daughters 13th birthday a memorable one! All the best and make sure you send all your family and friends over to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked 5 trips through Extreme Scene, Table Mountain hike with an abseil, high speed boat ride, sunset cruise, safari and a shark cage dive. We had the pleasure of Gavin's company on our guided hike of Table Mountain where he informed us of local land marks and history. Gavin also gave us pointers for our self planned Cape of Good Hope trip which helped make it even more of an adventure by speaking to a shark spotter on boys drive at False bay. Gavin really helped us as our Shark cage dive had to be pulled forward due to ocean conditions and he really didn't want us to miss out. We saw six Great Whites with the biggest of five meters smashing the cage whilst we were in it!!!! Something we will never forget for the rest of our lives, simply awesome!!! Every trip we planned with Extreme Scene went smoothly and all were professionally run I would recommend them to anyone seeking adrenaline filled activities in Cape Town. Thank you Gavin you helped make our South African adventure that little bit more special. Martin and Verity

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExtremeScene, Owner at Extreme Scene Day Trips, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Wow reading reviews like this makes this job satisfying. Our objective at Extreme Scene is for our clients to get the most out of Cape Town and sometimes small little bits of advice can go a long way even if we are not directly involved with that particular experience. We are very proud of this city we live in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gavin is awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Gavin arranged two trips, sand boarding and shark diving, for us. We wanted to do the hiking tour and bungee jumping but unfortunately the weather was not helping for the hike and we couldn't get enough people for the bungee jumping.

He was so helpful and friendly with every single activity. Each day he would send us an email and ask about the activity and remind us what to do and bring for the following activities.

Sand boarding was so awesome. I love to snowboard, so this was definitely a new experience, The sand was so soft and it was beautiful there. One tip, bring lots of sun tan lotion. The sun is strong!

Thanks Gavin! I can't wait to go back to Capetown again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExtremeScene, Owner at Extreme Scene Day Trips, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for the review guys. Our job is to manage your activities around forecast weather conditions and we believe that by keeping our clients informed on what to expect always helps them during their stay and the plans they have made. Ultimately maximising your stay while in Cape Town and we know how valuable your time is. You guys are always welcome to come back to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Professional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I used Extreme scene to arrange a shark cage diving trip whilst staying in Cape Town. The date of the trip had to be changed whilst we were staying in Cape Town due to the weather. Gavin and Lauren ensured that we were kept upto date with the changes to make everything run smoothly. The shark cage dive with Diving Unlimited at Klienbai was an amazing experience. We saw six Great white sharks and the staff on the boat were very knowledgeable and professional. Breakfast before the trip, towels, snacks and drinks were provided on the boat plus food afterwards. Be prepared for a three hour drive from Cape Town to Klienbai.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExtremeScene, Owner at Extreme Scene Day Trips, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Mike thanks for the very positive feedback. We are just glad that you had an extra day and the time to reschedule the shark dive. Sometimes the weather can be a problem and it always helps to have clients who are understanding and flexible to make rescheduling possible. The shark cage diving is a fantastic experience and it sounded like you guys had a very good trip. Yes unfortunately there is a bit of a drive to get there and back but hopefully the the shark cage diving and the beautiful scenario along the drive makes that all worthwhile. If you are ever back in Cape Town again please let us know. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tree top canopy tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Terrific fun because the staff are superbly trained and highly safety conscious; means you can both admire the view and scream off your head if you so desire. Don't forget to book a video of the experience as It's very difficult to ride and shoot [unless you have a head-cam]. Suitable for 8 - 80; I'm nearer the upper range. MichaelU

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExtremeScene, Owner at Extreme Scene Day Trips, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Michael and Deborah. Thanks for the very informative review on the Tree Top Canopy Tour we booked for you. I am sure many visitors to our profile on Trip Advisor will find this very useful. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and thanks for booking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extreme Scene Day Trips also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Extreme Scene Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extreme Scene Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.