We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where else in the world?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings in Cape Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kings in Cape Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings in Cape Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   33 Hout Street, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Where else in the world?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed 25-28th of June in the Kings in Cape Hotel. Very nice decorated (small) and very clean rooms in downtown Cape Town. Very good. Being located between Long Street and Greenmarket Square it was even surprisingly quiet to sleep there with open window at the streetside. The heating (airco) was also excellent...
However an hour after checking out, the receptionist called me to inform me that I forgot a shirt in my rooms.
During perhaps about 1000 stays in hotels in Europe, North and Central AMerica, Asia and Africa, this never happened (of yes I lost a lot of things- but NEVER I got a call I forgot something.). An hour later I had my shirt back and a big smile on my face... Well done!
I certainly will go back

Room Tip: Even the streetside room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Knowing that we would be giving up our rented car upon arrival in Capetown, we looked for a centrally-located hotel and found Kings in Cape Hotel, where we stayed for eight nights. It was indeed located within walking distance of most of the action - shopping, large city square where the daily outdoor market took place, sidewalk cafes, etc. The City Tour bus even rolled past the hotel door. The waterfront was also within walking distance, as was a theatre.

We had a large quiet family room with loveseat, chair, free WIFI, air conditioning and an updated bathroom. Breakfast, which was included in the reasonable room price, was ordered from the menu. The restaurant/bar area was called Ethopian Dishes. One evening we shared an authentic Ethopian meal, which was delicious and plentiful.

The staff and management were friendly, watchful and accommodating.

As we did not have a SA cell phone, it would have been convenient to have a telephone in the room; however, it was compensated for by being able to use the reception telephone.

There were renovations ongoing, partially in the hotel, as well as further shops being constructed at the lower hotel level; however, that did not obstruct our stay.

Room Tip: Good value and good people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here for a few drinks after the bars had closed. We aren't interested in the nightclubs so we nipped in on the way back to our hotel.

It's just off Long Street and it's open until 2am.

Good range of drinks at reasonable prices but at 1am we were the only customers in.

Very clean and comfy couches to sit on.

An ok place for a quiet, late night drink.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What's great about this hotel is the customer service. The staff is really helpful in sorting out any concerns you may have or any difficulties and I have to say special thanks to Marisa the GM at the hotel who is extremely helpful and cooperative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil Hemming
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Really nice little hotel and great value for money, we paid 375 Rand about 30 pounds. This included breakfast and a bottle of wine. Amazing value for money, not sure how they profit. Room was small but clean and comfortable. Nice shower and Bathroom. Really comfortable bed. Hotel has great bar area and gambling section. Live Music Saturday night was fantastic. So impressed with this little place and a perfect location next to greenmarket square. Only improvement could be the reception staff. The two girls there are a little stuffy and could do with smiling a little more. They seemed shy and slightly pretentious. But would not have spoiled our one night stay here. Would go back for sure. Not 5 star luxury that I normally booked but was highly impressed. Well done.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My name is Khusela Hempe, I took a trip down from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town end of April 2011 to visit a colleague of mine and his girlfriend. They organised the accommodation and booked us at the Kings in Cape Hotel from Friday till Sunday. They fetched me from the bus station and we walked during the cool early evening to the hotel, we were greeted with warm smiles and offered complementary drinks on arrival. We went upstairs to our room and I couldn't stop admiring the layout and the bathroom was exquisite as we freshened up. We then went down stairs and sat at the bar catching up and the barman was so freindly he was like one of us participating as he was serving us our drinks. The next day after a fulfilling english breakfast we took a walk to the nearby shops and market square where we were entertained by a Marimba band and dancers. From there we had lunch at one of the shops around there then we took a taxi to the Waterfront which is about 4 mins drive. There we shopped, walked about and crossed a bridge to where the entrance to the departure to the Robben Island is. Later that day back at the hotel we freshened up and was served dinner at the dinning hall by a lovely waitress who was freindly and always smiling making you feel at home away from home. We then had a few drinks at the bar before going out to the clubs which are a few minutes walk. We had so much fun till the early hours and walked back to the hotel to find one of the guys patiently waiting for us to make sure we got back safely. I woke up on Sunday morning to catch my bus at the station back to Port Elizabeth telling myself I must come back for more since I had a wonderful time in Cape Town. So in May 2012 I will be going back booking myself and my partner at Kings in Cape Hotel for a weekend to show him how much fun I had!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings in Cape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings in Cape Hotel

Address: 33 Hout Street, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings in Cape Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kings in Cape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings In Cape Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings in Cape Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.