We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth going” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Krugmann's Grill

Krugmann's Grill
Shop 158 & 158A, Kings Warehouse, | V&A Waterfront, 8001, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth going”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Besides burger that was excellent, service ok, the steaks were underdone....sinewy. Wine selection poor. Dont go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    5
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dodgy steak”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Starters are quite nice but that's where it ends. Offered bread but try asking for olive oil and balsamic vinegar and you will receive a premixed concoction that looks gross. They premix the olive oil and balsamic which does not have the desired taste or look for that matter. Ordered a steak, what I got was a piece of meat of unknown origin. It had a very weird taste and the chips was not cooked properly. The quality of the food here has been going down steadily with the last meal left me physically sick. Eat at own risk, the ambiance is great but the service is substandard and the food not worth the price or the risk.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Freindly service Krugmann's V&A Waterfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

At the V&A waterfront this unassuming restaurant lends itself to excellent friendly service. Prices are very fair for good food. I had the Double Burger and was extremely satisfied.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A bit overrated?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

KG came with high recommendations. While neither food nor service were faulty, their D&E classic beef burger was a bit of a disappointment. Not bad but simply nothing out of the ordinary. The interior is quite nice but I probably would rather go in gloomy weatger as it probably has a more cosy feeling to it than on a bright & sunny day (it was fairly dark inside).

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Horrible steak - fooled by the ambiance!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I thought of checking this restaurant whilst i was on business visit, decor looked inviting with seating on first floor bar area etc. Waiter was just not happy to serve one person on the top floor... anyway he told me i have to tell him exactly how i want my grill and that once order is taken i cannot change and if i dont like steak dish cant be sent back (WHAT ???) this is at the beginning.. ! anyway i ordered medium steak and it was absolutely murdered, dry chewy and really horrible, i couldnt figure out why that could happen and thought its one off and tried to cut from every possible angle but it was really horrible. halfway through out of curiosity i turned the piece of steak over and it was literally burned on the back side which was hidden ! these are crafty dudes, i dont think chef has any clue about steaks ! service is shameless, dont go avoid by miles !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krugmann's Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Krugmann's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krugmann's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.