We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a return visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mouette

La Mouette
78 Regent Road | Seapoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 21 433 0856
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opened in May 2010, La Mouette already established itself as a restaurant of note. We enjoyed a memorable Tasting Menu of 6 courses for R185, every item beautifully presented and delicious. We heartily recommend La Mouette.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth a return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience. The menu is appealing, everything passed us to other tables beautifully presented. I had a gazpacho and tuna tatare starter which was delicious and a Springbok main also really good. Dessert menu looked worth a try for next time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    150
    35
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“If only the owner was as charming and accodating as the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We visited in a party of eight booked for 8.30 by Protea President, we were there when reception did it. When we arrived we were told it was booked for nine, fine. We were given the private dining room and we asked if we could have the tasting menu, with one exception, one of the ladies did not do fish, she was brusquely informed she could have the vegetarian tasting menu, the option being take it or leave it. Food pretty good in a tasty, unsatisfying way I wish we had gone with the a-la-carte. Staff and service charming and price reasonable considering the effort taken and wine included.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Fish scales”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I find myself having difficulty reviewing this restaurant because whilst I rate the tasting menu experience very highly there was one incident which spoiled the experience. In my fish dish I found a scale which I pointed out to the waiter who relayed the message to the kitchen and returned saying that the chef said it was crispy skin. I find this disrespectful in the extreme, I have eaten crispy skin before and I am familiar with scales so I do know the difference between the two and a chef, worthy of a fine dining establishment, should know that patrons who are willing to pay the price of the tasting menu is slightly more discerning AND capable of identifying a fish scale. Had I been given an honest apology and acknowledgement of the fact I would have left the restaurant happy but because the chef dismisses complaints (probably for fear of having to comp a dish) I found the chef's attitude arrogant enough to spoil the experience. If you charge a premium price please learn that there are NO excuses!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mouette R, Owner at La Mouette, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Good morning

I truly apologise for this misunderstanding on behalf of the kitchen and chef - we certainly didn't mean to cause offence - I can assure you as an owner run restaurant we would never want you to have a less than satisfactory experience at La Mouette.

Please accept our most sincere apology and we thank you for your feedback. We will investigate and deal with this matter accordingly as we as owners were not aware that this had happened. Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

Kind regards
La Mouette owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A seagull like none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

La Mouette is a small, pleasant Jugend styled restaurant with a lot of character. The food is a journey in exploration. You really have no clue what you will be served, but it all tastes fantastic. I recommend the 67 duck as a main and the gin and tonic desert for afters.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Went Twice In Four Days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We went to La Mouette during our first night in Cape Town at the advice of our tour guide and ordered the six course meal paired with wine. All I can say is wow! We went again and sat outside and ordered off the standard menu. Once again we were blown away. The food is delicious and the staff is very friendly. We talked with the owner and she was very gracious and pleasant. Take the time to eat at La Mouette, you will be glad you did.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mouette also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Woodstock, Cape Town
 

Been to La Mouette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mouette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.