We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all round 10/10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mouette

La Mouette
78 Regent Road | Seapoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 21 433 0856
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Opened in May 2010, La Mouette already established itself as a restaurant of note. We enjoyed a memorable Tasting Menu of 6 courses for R185, every item beautifully presented and delicious. We heartily recommend La Mouette.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An all round 10/10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent an absolutely lovely evening earlier this week enjoying the Spring Tasting Menu at La Mouette. The food was exquisite on both the regular and vegan tasting menus, service was exceptional and cost wise, they are by far the most reasonable for tasting menus that I know off.
Thank you for a superb dinner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    182
    44
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Such a wonderful restaurant with amazing food and great service.Always happy to eat there and will recommend it to all.
Be sure to try the tasting menu that change regularly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a way to celebrate a birthday - delicious food, great wine, awesome staff and the perfect, cosy atmosphere. This was my second visit to the restaurant in a week. The food experience that is offered is one of a kind. We elected to have the 6 course tasting menu (which changes monthly) and paired it with the wine tasting. Each course offers an explosion of uniquely paired flavours that intrigues your palate with every bite. We especially enjoyed the Chef's signature Salt and Pepper prawns, the Green Pea Soup starter, the Fontina tortellini main meal and both of the desserts (Rhubarb crumble and Petit fours). The Warm chocolate tart, peanut butter ice cream and caramilzed popcorn gel is equally as delicious.

The staff are extremely professional. They are attentive but not intrusive and very knowledagble of the menu. We sat downstairs near the fireplace and enjoyed the cosy atmosphere.

We will definitely be returning for future celebrations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welgemoed
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely La Mouette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a lovely meal with the family here - tasting menu superb - even delicious vegetarian options! With the wine pairing really good value for money and a great experience. Staff friendly an efficient and cosy atmmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“THE SEAGULL OF SEAPOINT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were visiting Cape Town on business. We found out about the restaurant by chance and when trying to book they were full. My husband left his name and they got back to him to say there had been a cancellation. We were with our 10 year old daughter and when there was nothing on the menu for her the chef put together a simple but very delicious meal, suitable for her. The wine choices were superb and altogether a wonderful evening was had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mouette also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Mouette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mouette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.