We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roundhouse Restaurant

The Roundhouse Restaurant
Kloof Road, The Glen | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
021 438 4347
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Steeped in over 300 years of history, the former guard house, tea room, hotel and the hunting lodge of Lord Charles Somerset has been elegantly restored with the charm and sophistication of the Grand Old Cape. The style of cuisine at The Roundhouse is uncomplicated, contemporary French, inspired by seasonal ingredients and paired with one of the finest boutique wine collections in South Africa. South African born, PJ Vadas combines his worldly culinary skills with influences from the Cape to create an exquisite four course menu.
Hazyview, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Still outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Again superlative - service extraordinaire, food the talking point, great ambiance and a wonderful view. We loved our annual visit to this truly outstanding restaurant. Well done to the Lobster Boys, you have created a landmark to be proud of!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    89
    32
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Better than expected....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were told by a friend that he did not like the food. But honestly we were very much surprised about the food. For us it was creative and well presented. The wine list is a stunner but in comparison to competitors very expensive. It is " over staffed " with people who do not know about their job and if you have a question be prepared to have 3 or more coming to your table and nobody knows... The key persons are helpful but it is hard to find them as everybody is wearing a black suit. Lunches are served as a kind of picnic which does not fit to the wonderful ambience. Backpackers meet black ties, pizza meets Passion fruit Souffle...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Too fine for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This resturant for sure Can make fine french inspirer food but I think its too much. Portions are very small although delightful but you dont go there if you are hungry. Amazing winelist. The view over the Bay is amazing. Very expensive. For mé its not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, Beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We popped in to The Roundhouse after a rather tiring walk down Table Mountain (do not attempt unless you are prepared for something a little more than an average hike!!). The Roundhouse was superb, an absolute must for anyone who appreciates great food, beautiful views and lovely service. A picnic style layout, you do a ticky box menu, surrounded by rolling greenery, roaming free chickens and the views of the mountain itself. It was probably our favourite spot for lunch the entire holiday, and we ate out a lot(!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mind Blowing....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Where do I start with this restaurant its amazing...food, service, staff, atmosphere its all right at the top.

We make a point of booking The Roundhouse every year and every time we walk away with the most amazing memories.

The food is wow!! Try the souffle its out of this world!!

A great thanks to the owners and the staff for creating such a magical place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roundhouse Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Roundhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roundhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.