We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but rubbish!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ashanti Lodge Green Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ashanti Lodge Green Point to your Saves list
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   23 Antrim Road, Three Anchor Bay | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Clean but rubbish!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Luckily I was only staying for 2 nights, but that was too many! Lets start with the positives - it is within walking distance of most things - beach, shops, bars etc. Rooms are clean and spacious, with a handy sink. Shared bathrooms are a good size. There is a pool and kitchen.
Negatives - Staff! Well to be fair I only came across one, a lady who was so miserable (maybe just because I was female!), every question I asked was answered, but in a way where it was just so much effort for her to speak. I then got locked out of my room for an hour and a half beacuse the combination lock broke - I got an apology, but she could have offerred me a drink at least!! Lounge area was tiny, there was a TV, but I couldn't find the remote! Kitchen was so small, and lots of things falling apart. Bathrooms could have done with soap. As far as hostels go in Cape Town, maybe this is one of the best, but I did not enoy my stay!

Room Tip: Don't choose a dorm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hello Sarah
Thank you for your constructive criticism - we may not like it, but you do certainly say it like it is.
We have only had one woman working for us at reception, Aimee, and she is no longer with us. You are not the first person to have mentioned her attitude. I can only apologise, but she did leave at the end of November.
I am not sure which things are falling apart in the kitchen - I wish you had elaborated so that I could attend to them but as far as I am aware everything is working perfectly.
Also - all the bathrooms have soap dispensers mounted on the wall with liquid soap so not sure why you thought you may need soap. We don't provide soap in the communal showers - it is backpackers lodge after all!
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but most people do!
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
13
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights - was fine - as you would expect from a backpackers really. Bit odd having a missed dorm, but there you go. Showers were clean and hot, bed was comfortable and its in a great location fro the beach. Perfectly acceptable - would stay again.

Room Tip: Fine, but if youa re bothered, check if you are in a mixed dorm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hey there!
Thank you for your review. Mixed dormitories are perfectly standard in most backpacker hostels around the country - in fact, we are one of the few that does offer single-sex dorms. I am sorry that there was not one available during your stay but if you had pre-booked I am sure you would have got a female-only dorm. Worth remembering for next time :-)
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hostel is more like a hotel. I only stayed for one night, but it was great. The hostel was clean and nice. There were private rooms and dorms. I stayed in a 6 female bed dorm, which was more than lovely. The breakfast was pancake mix, make your own. Not much in terms of choice. This hostel was a bit out of the way, but it wasn't that much of a problem. The manager was nice and helped provide tips on what to see etc.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Susan
Thanks very much for your review - I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Most of our guests enjoy the pancake mix and being a backpackers lodge they usually have their own groceries to cook breakfast. We do have a breakfast menu available if you required a more substantial breakfast - just order at reception. I am sorry that you were not informed of that.
Hopefully we will see you back again one day.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had lots of doubts when booking this place because of the mixed reviews I read on the tripadvisor. But the place turned out to be a really good one. We had a family room (for 4) which was really big and comfy. It felt freshly painted and was spotlessly clean. The common bathrooms/showers were just across the room and were clean, but we had a washing-basin also in the room which was comfortable. The stuff was always nice and helpful. It is also located on a quiet street, but very near the V&A. We walked to the town centre too (about 30 min. with children) but there are lots of small buses (the informal ones) which get you to the centre in 5 min. with only 6 ZAR/per person. There are numerous restaurants on the Main Road, only 10 min. walking distance. I have no doubts recommending this place to families traveling to CPT.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hi there!! Thank you so much for your great review of our facilities and I am glad that everything lived up to your expectations.
Maybe we will see you back again one day?
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Lovely clean & fresh place - really good bathrooms & kitchens. Our double room was great super comfy bed. Very safe & secure. Really helpful & friendly reception staff who will help with anything & have great suggestions of where to go. Easy booking online. . About 15 mins walk to V&A.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hi there!
Thanks so much for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day!
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at Ashanti for 10 days in Cape Town and found the place really clean- great fresh sheets and excellent staff. Felt really safe (2 British girls on our own) and Alard the manager was superb! He suggested the best places to go and tours - of which we could reccomend more the shark cage diving and wine tour. To top it off he even organised an amazing braai (south african bbq) for us, where all we paid for was the food - he cooked and prep'd the whole thing! Would def stay here and for a inexpensive hostel it def is the best in the area!!! Great value for money!

Room Tip: We stayed in a female only dorm which was great, but also swapped between twin rooms- as the dorms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

Overall this place is great, it is slightly out of town, but only about 20 minutes walk so not too bad, na dis very clean and comfortable. It isn't a party place if that is what you are after, but the great staff make up for this.

There is one major downside, the booking can be quite hard, and as it is first impressions it isn't a good area to be letting Ashanti down. Basically my friend made my booking on my behalf while they were booking theirs. I was booked into a triple at a single rate with no one else there. A couple of days later we were advised that we had been booked, by Ashanti, into the wrong Ashanti, and that only dorms or ensuite rooms were available at Green Point. My friend agreed on the dorm, I reluctantly agreed for an ensuite for double the price (there was a reason I didn't want a dorm), but asked for a discount or free Internet because of the runaround as it was their mistake. The email came back asking "what runaround" and saying that they don't give discounts. Funnily enough I ended up in that triple, and more people I know managed to book single rooms later than we booked them. I still honestly believe they were calling our buff.

It would be nice to make the wifi free, but it isn't expected, but the wifi is throughout the rooms and lounge, and the free pancake mix makes up for it.

Other than that booking issue (which to be honest gave me a really bad first impression) it is amazing, and I would recommend it to anybody, even my luxury seeking father.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am surprised that you found the booking process hard. We do have certain procedures that we follow in order to ensure that all booking details are correct and I can only assume that when you made the reservation, you didn't originally specify that you wanted to stay in our Green Point lodge. Our central reservations team is based at our sister lodge in the Gardens area and as this is also our biggest property, unless one specifies we usually assume the bookings is for there. It is a point that I will take cognisance of in future though and I will instruct the reservations staff to confirm which property a booking is for if none is specified.

However, the booking process aside I am glad to hear that you nevertheless enjoyed your stay with us.

The wi-fi on your own device (smartphone, tablet, laptop, etc) is free but we do charge guests for the use of our computers as there is obviously costs attached to provide these.

Hopefully we will see you again soon one day ?
Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashanti Lodge Green Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Green Point

Address: 23 Antrim Road, Three Anchor Bay | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Green Point 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and super stylish, Ashanti Green Point offers quieter, more private accommodation for the discerning traveller. Green Point is celebrated for its vibrant nightlife, and nearby Sea Point buzzes with shops and restaurants, a historic seafront walkway and secluded beaches. Also within walking distance are the V&A Waterfront, iconic Cape Town Stadium and the city centre itself.Building on the unrivalled experience of Ashanti Gardens, the Green Point lodge shows the same attention to detail with superb facilities, outstanding service and excellent security. Various accommodation options are available, from backpacker dorms to private en-suite bedrooms; all with fluffy white duvets, individual reading lights, personal safes and international plug points. Private rooms also have plasma screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Green Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashanti Lodge Green Point Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashanti Lodge Green Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.