We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Table Mountain Hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ridgway Ramblers Day Tours

Ridgway Ramblers Day Tours
Tafelberg Road and surrounds, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
082 522 6056
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A visit to Cape Town is not complete without a hike on Table Mountain. We will tailor make a hike to suit all ages and fitness levels - Your boots are made for walking.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Table Mountain Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Binny Ridgway led a group of 9 of us up Table Mountain in late May. She is warm, energetic, and very knowledgeable. She was very patient and dealt effectively with a group that got rather spread out on the trail. At the top, she helped three of us connect with Abseil Africa and then led us back to the top after we had rappelled down the pitch.

Binny obviously loves what she does, and I highly recommend hiring her as a guide for this moderately challenging hike. Hike up with her, and then take the gondola down.

Wish I'd had more time so I could have hiked Lion's Head with her as well!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Absolute highlight of the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Binny guided us through Platteklip Gorge and Nursery Ravine. These hikes were the absolute highlights of our brief holiday in Cape Town. The spectacular views were only enhanced by Binny's thorough knowledge of the flora/fauna, obvious enthusiasm, and respect for Table Mountain. She was very quick to gauge our ability on the first hike, and tailored the second hike accordingly. We would recommend the Ridgway Ramblers to anyone seeking a customized, personably-guided, fantastic hike through the National Park.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing hiking in great company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I hiked Cape Point, Lion's Head and Table Mountain with Binny - she is amazing. She has a wonderful warm personality, the ability to judge your pace and ability, and an absolute passion for what she does. By the second day it was like hiking with a friend - albeit one who knows everything there is to know. And she bakes the best banana bread! I will definitely hike with Binny on my next trip to Cape Town.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“A hike to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hiking Table Mountain was one of my wife's "lifetime achievement" goals - one that she has held since she was a little girl living in Jo-berg and making many trips to Cape Town and around South Africa. Having not been back to South Africa in 18 years, she was intent on making a Table Mountain climb part of her trip. This being my first time in South Africa (and being her husband), it was up to me to make sure that she accomplished this goal while in the Cape Town part of our visit.

Binny - without you accepting our last minute request to join your day hike up Platteklip Gorge, we certainly would have left South Africa with a hole in our hearts. Now, we simply leave with a longing to come back to a wonderful country and people. Thanks so much for your excellent guiding skills and wonderful company. We would recommend Binny and her Ridgway Ramblers to any and all who wish to hike Table Mountain.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
1 review
“Table Mountain Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Binny is an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and personable. She picked us up from our hotel and tailored the hike to the experience we were looking for. She carried extra water/food supplies in case we were dumb enough to not bring enough of our own (yes, many make that mistake!). She knew how to keep a good pace and spent time answering our questions and/or filling us with useful facts about the fauna/flora of table mountain. I highly recommend her!! Oh yes, the price was very fair :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ridgway Ramblers Day Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ridgway Ramblers Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridgway Ramblers Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.