We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point to your Saves list
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point
75 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Paul & Tanya are great hosts-great location, close to restaurants and deli, on the bus route to downtown, V A mall and other sites-the breakfasts are good-the rooms are tended to everyday-good value-have fun

Room Tip: no a/c so if you get the front room road noise could be load if you leave the sliding doors open
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We haven't even left the place and we are planning that this would definitely be the place we would stay in, if we come back to Cape town.

The location is brilliant, a ten minute walk brings you to the Waterfront, or catch the City bus three doors down. There are two excellent restaurants within a two minute walk and a third about 5 mins away.

We booked the room overlooking the ocean and it is fabulous - you can sit and watch all the dog walkers in the mornings and the evenings and at night, the only sound is the waves and crickets.

Paul and Tania are perfect hosts - friendly and helpful. The freshly cooked breakfast is tasty and good quality. The entire place is spotless (so much so on day 1, I walked into the patio doors in the bedroom)

This really is a hidden gem, and one which I will most definitely be recommending to any one visiting Cape town.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the balcony - the views are beautiful.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Belfast-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our fourth stay at the Dolphin Inn and we'd never stay anywhere else in Cape Town. The hosts, Paul and Tania, are awesome and make you feel like part of their extended family. We love the relaxed, comfortable atmosphere and having your own keys to come and go as you please, makes it truly feel like a home away from home. Once, my daughter, granddaughter and I came down to breakfast in our dressing gowns, that's how much we felt at home! Thanks guys, we really appreciate the personal touch and care you give.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathiegolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Dolphin Inn Guesthouse. The Guesthouse is located on a short distance from V&A Waterfront and Public Transport. It is very comfortable and has a great view on Table Bay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StijnRutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hosts were very trusting, friendly, and treated people very respectfully! The premises were very clean and nice. Other guests were friendly and fun to talk to. My room was a bit small, but roomy enough and comfortable. I was served a wonderful custom breakfast every morning. I think the location is one of the best in Cape Town!

And you can't beat the view from their front window! Nice to go outside and take a walk around the seafront park!

Room Tip: Consider paying for the larger rooms with the view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dswad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here as most of the budget hotels on the V&A were full, and was just so glad we landed here...as it was our best decision. A simple B&B, clean, well-kept rooms coupled with fantastic hosts - Paul and Tania, even Mahi (the cat) made us feel athome plus we also shared a passion for cricket and Indian criciket in particular. They have loads of interesting stories to tell about all their travels, its fascinating, brilliant with information about Cape town and dont get tired explaining and suggesting interesting things to do....on their advice we did the Biscuit Mill Saturday market..and the atmosphere, food and wine there was to die for. The location is awesome too.....facing the bay with a green patch across the hotel where joggers run, dogs play, as you sit and have breakfast (lovingly prepared by the hosts themselves) by the window overlooking the view, time just seems to slow down. The V&A is a 10 minute walk from here, the bus stops are within 100 metres...the red hop-on-hop-off as well as the newly introduced MyCiti buses. Perenegro the restaurant nearby have fab staff and reasonably priced food and beverages..... anyone visiting the restaurant after reading this please say hi to Brian, Sidney and Ivan on the bar, they are amazing fellas. Also close-by La Splendida has a restaurant thats buzzing, weekends they have a cool reggae band playing funky catchy music...one cant help but dance

Room Tip: We were first put up in Room 4 (which is small) on the ground floor...but were later accommodated in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilbur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Clean, comfortable and cozy- 3 adjectives to describe my experience at this guesthouse. For a more detailed description- the place has a splendid view of the ocean, a warm and homey interior, good connectivity to Hop on - Hop off busses, just about a mile away from the city centre (walking distance).

The short stay was made more special by its easy-going and hospitable hosts, Paul and Tania. The couple, being avid travellers themselves, engaged freely in interesting conversations and took wonderful care of their guests! I should very much like to stay here again, if I go back to Cape Town ever again! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaKhosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#24 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#31 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 105 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
0.9 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#20 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
1.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#16 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point

Address: 75 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, seafront B+B, walking distance to top restaurants, coffee shops, salons, spas and the V+A Waterfront for all your shopping and entertainment needs. Continental and hot breakfast included. Free Wi-Fi. Spectacular views across Table Bay to Robben Island from the living room. Newly renovated luxury suite on the first floor with great views. Spacious bathroom with shower and bath. The open plan design includes a galley kitchen with stove and microwave, a small bar and living room. Sliding doors open onto a covered balcony providing the perfect space for sundowner cocktails or a leisurely breakfast watching the dolphins. Ideal for a romantic getaway or the business traveller who needs some space to work from. Comfortable, spacious accommodation. The Green Point Stadium is less than 700m away! All rooms en-suite with TV and mini bar. Safe and secure area. Beautiful promenade for walkers and runners. Metropolitan Golf course is behind us and the Virgin Active Gym is a quick jog away. Convenient bus access to City Centre, Waterfront and Camps Bay. Cape Town International Convention Centre is a 5 minute drive. Cape Peninsula Technikon and Survival Centre - 5min walk. We can help with car hire, tours and adventure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing