We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to enjoy Cape Town from.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point to your Saves list
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point
75 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 147 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
1 review
“Perfect place to enjoy Cape Town from.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

The B&B is outstanding and the owners couldn't be nicer and more helpfull. Certainly a place I would recommend to friends and family. Also love to stay there again if or rather when I'll be back in Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
42
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Had a fab stay here. The room was lovely and the hosts very helpful and great company. Situation was excellant on the promanade with sea view, a short walk to the excellant park and the tour bus stops outside. Breakfast was very good eggs,bacon,beans,tomatoe,toast,fresh fruit,croisants and more. Great if you are a runner as a 7km safe route is on your doorstep.
Thanks so much for everything,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

Stunning location with ready access to lovely walks on promenade, Green Point Park and nearby restaurants. Service was not great and very rushed and impersonal. No one was around most of the time - even when I wanted to check out! DSTV didn't work properly and bathroom blinds were dirty. Very dissappointing and didn't live up to the reviews. Location is the reason I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinCapeTown, Owner at Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest

We are alarmed to hear of your complaint. We are currently out of SA as we have taken some much needed time off, leaving a Manager in charge of the Guesthouse in our absence.
We pride ourselves on running a clean, friendly and helpful establishment. It disappoints us to hear of your unsatisfactory stay at the Dolphin Inn. We have taken head of your comments and sent a message to our Manager to see to it that our customary good service levels are maintained in our absence.
Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience.
Paul and Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, SA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Not sure which rooms the other reviewers were in but the room we stayed in was so small (one side of the bed was against a wall) there wasnt room to swing a cat. The shower, toilet basin was also minute.
The breakfast was tiny (2 small eggs and one rasher of bacon with a quarter tomato) so not overly impressed with that either.

I also did not feel that it was good value as at $120 per night it is not cheap. Pity because the location is really good

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinCapeTown, Owner at Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest

We are alarmed to hear of your complaint. We are currently out of SA as we have taken some much needed time off, leaving a Manager in charge of the Guesthouse in our absence.

We pride ourselves on running a clean, friendly and helpful establishment. We have always been complimented for our hearty Full English Breakfast along with a selection of cereals, fresh fruits, yoghurts, juices tea and coffee which have always been a great hit with our guests, local and foreign alike. We therefore apologize for the sub standard breakfast you received while we were away.

We do have a selection of rooms available, some smaller than others, all with en-suite bathrooms. Should you choose to stay with us in the future, please request a larger room, 2 of which have full bathrooms ie. shower, bath etc.

It disappoints us to hear of your unsatisfactory stay at the Dolphin Inn. We have taken head of your comments and sent a message to our Manager to see to it that our customary good service levels are maintained in our absence.

Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience.
Paul and Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Love everything about the place! We use this guesthouse for business trips and return time and again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Warm welcome and wonderful, friendly atmosphere. The view from the balcony of the seafront apartment was amazing - watching the dolphins frolic as we ate breakfast - and Paul and Tanya could not have been more helpful, with tips ranging from where to eat to where to swim (try the huge lido, a brisk walk up the promenade, for a very cheap, warm dip)
Everything you need is within easy reach:Table Mountain, the Waterfront complex, a golf course just behind the apartments, beaches, museums etc and some lovely, affordable restaurants just along the front. All in all a great base from which to explore a great city.
Angela and David Jones, Surrey, England/

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very affordable

It feels like home away from home!!

I will recommend this guest house to any of my family and friends any day ,any time!!

Room Tip: Stunning affordable with that homely feeling
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point

Address: 75 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, seafront B+B, walking distance to top restaurants, coffee shops, salons, spas and the V+A Waterfront for all your shopping and entertainment needs. Continental and hot breakfast included. Free Wi-Fi. Spectacular views across Table Bay to Robben Island from the living room. Newly renovated luxury suite on the first floor with great views. Spacious bathroom with shower and bath. The open plan design includes a galley kitchen with stove and microwave, a small bar and living room. Sliding doors open onto a covered balcony providing the perfect space for sundowner cocktails or a leisurely breakfast watching the dolphins. Ideal for a romantic getaway or the business traveller who needs some space to work from. Comfortable, spacious accommodation. The Green Point Stadium is less than 700m away! All rooms en-suite with TV and mini bar. Safe and secure area. Beautiful promenade for walkers and runners. Metropolitan Golf course is behind us and the Virgin Active Gym is a quick jog away. Convenient bus access to City Centre, Waterfront and Camps Bay. Cape Town International Convention Centre is a 5 minute drive. Cape Peninsula Technikon and Survival Centre - 5min walk. We can help with car hire, tours and adventure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.