We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lawhill Luxury Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lawhill Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Lawhill Luxury Apartments
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Dock Road, Bluff Entrance | Marina Residential, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Staying at Lawhill is just like chilling out at the home of a rich relative. In the two-bedroomed apartment the bed was comfortably firm with crisp linen and a sumptuous duvet just like my bed is at home.
Being fussy about what I eat, "self-catering but serviced" is the way to go for me. Woolies was close by and my husband and I put the oven to good use. The flat was always beautifully cleaned while we were out and I also appreciated the washing machine and tumbler drier in the kitchen. There were two flatscreen TVs (a great marriage saver) and free wi-fi, even accessed from the balcony, which had a lovely view over the canals.
Breakfast at the neighbouring One&Only hotel was overpriced and we found much better value at the V&A Precinct. Incidentally the spa at One&Only was totally overbooked. We couldn't get a treatment for love or money so perhaps they need to hire more staff.
However you can get a gr8 shoulder massage at the nearbyV&A craft market much cheaper.
We found our Lawhill apartment to be tremendous value for money and couldn't wait to come "home" from an outing so we could just enjoy having the place to ourselves ...
Lawhill is hard to find if you don't know where it is – and also not available on our GPS for some reason – but I can totally recommend it and hope to return one day ...

Room Tip: The views over the canal are the best as shown by the picture taken from the balcony of our Lawhill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    37
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
90
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Recently I had the opportunity to stay 3 nights at the Lawhill. Hands down the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Keep in mind I travel quite a bit.
Upon arriving to the facility, we had to go through security at the main gate of the Marina. After clearing security, we proceeded to the actual Lawhill buildings within the Marina. The front desk staff greeted us at the entrance and were very helpful with the large number of bags. We were then checked in and taken to our hotel room/apartment.
My first impression was - WOAH!!! The room, the furnishings, the bathroom, the views etc all were absolutely amazing. I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves.
The apartment is great for those who are visiting with friends or family but want to have multiple rooms/bathrooms. The kitchen was great when we felt like making something or just eating in. The living room and balcony were very comfortable and great for just hanging out with friends/family. The apartment has all conveniences and comforts that one would have within their room but with a lot more luxury.
Lawhill is located within the Marina community close to the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town. The location of the property allowed me to enjoy many wonderful meals at the One and Only Cape Town (right next door) and at the wonderful restaurants on the V&A Waterfront. Many tourist attractions are within walking distance or not too far by cab.
I will definitely stay here when I visit Cape Town again and will recommend the place to all friends and family visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We are currently staying at lawhill room 503 apartment B.. Room is clean and fantastic with all the kitchen washing machine.. Room 503 is closest to v&a waterfront next to one and only hotel and two ocean aquarium. The view from balcony is superb .. The whole place is very secured and well managed ..

The walk to v&a waterfront takes approx 10 minutes but we felt safe the whole time but it gets quiet in the evening so I suggest to get back before dark.. For food, if you can order in from mr delivery and they have everything from asian to western food ( very efficient if you dont feel like going out at night) . Bfast is shared with one and only hotel but price is rand190 which I think a little steep.. So get some groceries and cook a home made bfast ...

Water heater is turned off between 11am till 5 pm .. And water gets cold unless you ask maintenance to turn on.. Reception very very friendly and they can organize tours and transfer to anywhere and safe..

Overall a good stay and would return here again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

have to say that this was one of the best serviced apartments i have ever stayed in. what added to the experience was the awesome location at the V & A Waterfront. The staff was very helpful. Any assistance one required was a call away. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and our stay was just perfect. I highly recommend the lawhill luxury apartment to anyone who has plans of visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed four nights and wished that we could have stayed longer. Our apartment was perfect for our group of six. All the staff were extremely helpful. We enjoyed exploring the beautiful sights of Cape Town with the help of the tour desk. Within easy walking distance to the waterfront, and also the exceptional One and Only Hotel where we enjoyed a breakfast. The apartments are beautifully furnished, serviced daily and have everything you need. Just what you want.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in a 2 Bedroom apartment at Lawhill Apartments for 5 days and it was almost like staying at home. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The walk to the water front is quite long but the kids could manage it quite easily.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Recently spent 4 days staying in one of the 3 bedroom Lawhill apartments and it was incredible. The 5 of us were so impressed with the layout and location of the apartment. The apartment was better than we expected and big enough that we never felt we were in each other's way. The staff at Lawhill were extremely obliging and helpful as well. The apartments are nicely located on the V&A Waterfront with easy access to shops, restaurants and transport. We've passed the details on to everyone we can and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lawhill Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawhill Luxury Apartments

Address: Dock Road, Bluff Entrance | Marina Residential, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lawhill Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Lawhill Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawhill Luxury Apartments Hotel Cape Town Central
Lawhill Luxury Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawhill Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.