We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Underberg Guest House

Save Saved
You added Underberg Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Underberg Guest House
6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“A fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is such a wonderful small hotel. I stayed eight nights and wished that I could stay a month. It combines old world elegance and modern conveniences. It's also very quiet and in one of the coolest areas of Cape Town, with nearby shops and restaurants. The staff are courteous and helpful. I can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: Try go get a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
126
27
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and couldn't fault anything.
On arrival Anne, the owner, welcomed us with a cold drink and lots of suggestions and leaflets for us to consider what to do during our stay.
Our room wasn't huge but was very nicely furnished
Comfortable bed? Yes
Spotless? Yes
Powerful huge shower? Yes
Room for 2 suitcases and all our stuff? Yes
At breakfast Anne was on hand again to help us with our sight seeing plans and even booked the bus tour on line for us to save a few rand.
The breakfast was lovely in the old colonial style dining room. The home made orange marmalade was divine, it went very well on toast with rooibos tea!
The guest house is really well situated being only a 10 min walk into the centre of Cape Town and all of the shops or a 5 min walk to some excellent local restaurants. We had a hire car as we were travelling on from here but only used it on our last day to drive to the cape.
The area felt safe to walk from the restaurants at night and although it isn't far out of the city, it was nice and quiet with a residential feel.
For what we paid I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if ever we return to Cape Town. It's superb value for money and Anne and Bruce were just really lovely people. They couldn't do enough for us, charged our phone when our cable refused to work, booked us a table at the"millers thumb" restaurant when reservations are hard to come by on short notice and even asked if we had our sun block on before we left each day!
Overall, excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've spent 3 nights at this hotel. We've selected this hotel based on the high score on tripadvisor and the good reviews, but I must say it's a bit overrated. The rooms are average (nothing special), but clean. The breakfast was fine. The fact that there was nobody after 3pm to ask something, bothered us. The hotel doesn't have a pool, but you know this in advance. The location is good, close to restaurants and bars.
Anyway, nice, clean hotel but nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnderbergGuesthouse, Owner at Underberg Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your comments and we note your concerns.

During the morning we like to help our guests with their plans for the day, booking of tours, taxis and restaurants. We are always here in the early evening, checking on our guests and organizing the guest house for the night.

We obviously however were not here at the time for your needs - our apologies
Kind regards

Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 Nights in this very lovely B&B. It's located next to nice bars and restaurants. The Best thing: it is very safe!

Our room was Big and always tidied up. The breakfast was delicious.

The hosts are very friendly. The help you with everything e.g. Trips, Taxi etc.

The Price for this House is Good, compared what you get for your Money!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stolpen, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent one week in february in the wonderful old-fashioned-styled victorian guesthouse in Tamboerskloof in Cape Town. All rooms were very clean and decorated lovely from Anne and bruce, the owners of the house. Every morning there was a freshly-prepared breakfast with continental and cooked dishes. For trips in the city and the surrounding we got friendly advices from Anne and Bruce. Relationship between prices and service was very good.
If we would come back to Cape Town, we would stay in the Underberg Guest House again. Come here and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Underberg for 2 nights. Our room and bathroom was bright, large and clean, with modern furnishings. The beds are so comfortable and allow for a relaxing sleep after a long day of walking around. Within walking distance to Long Street and stunning view of Table Mountain from the balcony. The owners were so hospitable and gave us great advise on places to visit. Really great breakfast too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse provided superb service, and had everything we needed and more, on offer! This is definitely a number one choice for accommodation! The area if he guest house is perfect as all the popular restaurants are nearby! The rooms are comfortable and the beds are enormous! It is highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Underberg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg Guest House

Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and colorfully decorated rooms, all majestically fitted with their own en-suite bathrooms. Enjoy the privacy of your colonial room with that unmistakable touch of African style. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a TV, overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, heater, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Underberg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Underberg Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.